mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

A Breakfast of Scrambled Eggs

In Eggs, Under 30 min! on August 19, 2006 at 11:33 pm

Eggs, cheese, and potatoes are what comfort foods are made of. And for all of them there are so many ways to cook – they lend themselves easily to different interpretations. There could be nothing simpler than a boiled egg. Though reams have be written on how to get the ‘perfect hard boiled egg’. I have done it a couple of ways and been satisfied with the results. But then again, I am not a chef.

For hard-boiled eggs put eggs in a pan and cover with cold water. Bring the water to boil and keep it at a rolling boil for 6 min. If the eggs were not at room temperature to begin with, I heat the water gradually and stir the eggs around till the water begins to boil. Drain immediately and re-fill the pan with cold water. This, friends, is the simple trick to avoid the greening of the yolk.

I learnt to make scrambled eggs, the American way, when I was a graduate student there. A friend of my sister’s took us to her home just before Christmas for a traditional meal of home-made waffles and scrambled eggs. And I realized that the moistness of the eggs is not from leaving the eggs undercooked but from all that cream and butter! Which was swell…Never, in my four years in the US of A, did I trust something that called itself ‘I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter’. It’s not. And, I think that there was also a fat free butter!

My approach is simple. If you think something is not very good for you, don’t eat it, or moderate your intake. Don’t substitute with something that is just pretending. All that glitters is NOT gold. Look at what they are saying (rather, hiding) about aspartame today.

Ayurveda advocates ghee and butter as good fats. In fact, if our brains are primarily fat…low fat intake makes us less smart? All those people on ‘fat-free’ diets…? Hmm…that explains a lot! :-)

Therefore, good creamy scrambled eggs on toast for a weekend breakfast is what the doctor ordered. Just follow the easy steps to make the best scrambled eggs you have ever eaten (so used to say my buddy Jim, and he had had some pretty good versions). Sprinkled generously with fresh ground pepper is my son’s favourite way to have eggs.

eggs and toast


World’s Best Scrambled Eggs

(Note: not to be confused with the Indian egg bhurji – different animals altogether)

2 eggs

2 knobs of butter (you decide how much the knob is! Mine is about a teaspoon)

2-3 T (whole) milk (or 1-2 T half-n-half)

2 T cheese, I used Amul Gouda today (optional)

salt

fresh ground pepper

egg mixmelting butterpouring eggscooking eggs 1cooking eggs 2cooking eggs 3

Lightly beat the eggs. Mix in the milk (or half-n-half), cheese, and salt. Throw in a knob of butter. Melt the other knob of butter in a 6 inch pan. Keeping the heat at low pour in the egg mix. Stir to scramble as the eggs start to cook. Keep the heat low all through. When the eggs are coming together but still moist and shiny, take the pan off the heat and serve on hot buttered toast with fresh ground pepper. Ketchup? Your call.

We don’t get half-n-half here. My eggs are neither organic nor free-range (their pallor tells it all). Beggars can’t be choosers. And I don’t use whole milk either (out of choice). I use my all-purpose 3% milk (Mother Dairy). If I have cream, I add some. Otherwise just the milk and butter do the job. I would stay clear of the 2% though.

P.S. (Aug 26): I wasn’t sure if I should enter WBB with something as basic as this,but thenI thought this blog is less about the exoticism and more about the beauty of the simple everyday things. Now, nobody said plain-everyday. And scrambled eggs are far from plain, they are what traditions are made up of!

So this is going to be my first entry for Nandita’s impressive Saffron Trail’s event Weekend Breakfast Blogging #4 being hosted this time at Pavani’s Cook’s Hideout.

  1. Hi, came here through Indira’s site. Welcome to blog world!
    You have some lovely recipes already.
    Btw are you a huge Alice in wonderland fan?? Loved your blog name :-)

    Hi Ashwini. You guessed it! It is one of my fav books ever! Come again.  I checked out the peanut amti over at your blog yesterday…another recipe I was looking for. Thanks.

  2. Endearing post…

  3. I totally agree… some fat (the good variety) is better than oodles of the “lo or no fat” variety!!

  4. lovely site !
    hey could u pls send me the recipe for the scrambled eggs..as in how much cream and butter exactly….

  5. [...] breakfast recipes …The Best Scrambled Eggs Ever | Kitchen Stewardship | A Baby Steps …A Breakfast of Scrambled Eggs « A Mad Tea PartyScrambled Eggs with Tomatillos Recipe | Simply [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 491 other followers