mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

What a Party!

In Bread, Tea Party on August 21, 2007 at 12:06 am

Out they poured…tiny ones, giant ones, white ones, brown ones, thin ones, thick ones, flat ones, puffed ones, plain ones, flamboyant ones, stuffed ones, speckled ones, “…they ran all over …in and out of kitchens, squeaking in their hundreds so that people could not hear themselves speak. They killed all the cats and fought the dogs quite boldly. They were too cunning to be caught in traps. What could be done?” :lol: (from The Pied Piper, an old Tale).

Not quite the belan-wielding avtar that was giving Bee and Jai nightmares, but I sure felt a little like the Pied Piper! It is hard to believe this post led to this party!

The sweet music from my magic pipe led us all to this Party table, which is now groaning under the weight of poories. And what a party it is – there are friends and family, neighbours and roomies, little ones and older ones, guys and gals, singles and couples, married-with-children, extended families, those with blogs, and those without, old faithfuls, and new faces too.

To celebrate 60 years of Indian Independence we covered quite some ground. The South was fully represented by Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh; Maharashtra held up the west; from the east we had Orissa and West Bengal; and North was represented by Delhi, and Punjab. And we also had participation from the Western World – USA! And everyone dressed up too! Yay!

Though the occasion was a bit sombre, no one was serious. There was much banter and merry making, poking and sharing, and name-calling too (a lot, come to think of it!), but all in good humor.

In the order of appearance:

Indosungod (Daily Musings)
Shilpi
Mary
Manisha (Indian Food Rocks)
Mallugirl (Malabar Spices)
I (A Mad Tea Party)
SK
Pragyan (Cooking at Pragyan’s)
Nandita (Saffron Trail)
Asha (Aroma)
Indira (Mahanandi)
Ramya (Aromas of Food)
ET (Evolving Tastes)
Rachna (Soul Food)
TBC (The Budding Cook)
Bee and Jai (Jugalbandi)
Prajakta (Swaypakghar)
Coffee (The Spice Cafe)
Shilpa (Aayi’s Recipes)
RP (My Workshop)
Sandeepa (Bong Mom’s Cookbook)
Madhuli (My Foodcourt)
Musical (Musical’s Kitchen)
Srivalli (cooking4all seasons)
Santhi (Writing on the Mirror)
Priya (Akshayapatram)
GV Barve (Add Flavour)
Latha (Masala Magic)
Hima (Snackorama)
Saju (Chachi’s Kitchen)
Sia (Spice Corner)
Mona (Zaika)
Vee (Past, Present and Me)
Meeta (What’s For Lunch Honey)
Shyam (Food, In The Main)
Padma (Padma’s Kitchen)
Suma Gandlur (Veggie Platter)
Neroli (Neroli.108)
TC (The Cooker)
Lakshmi (The Yum Blog)
Sharmi (Naivedyam)
Pel (Elaichi et Cetera)
Jyothsna (Curry Bazaar)
Pintoo (Zaayka)

I am so glad all of you came to make this Mad Tea Party possible. The idea behind the poori-bhaji was not healthy-eating-be-damned but to check ourselves from going totally overboard. We do need to include some good fats in our daily diet. Our brains are, after all, pure fat! I think Neroli’s words capture the magic behind the poori (and the intent behind this event) perfectly:

When the first circle of dough went into the hot oil, it bubbled happily and seemed to burst with joy, and I laughed out loud.

Come here, LG, I said, look at this!

Naah, well…okay, he said. Okay, all right, let me get my stool.

LG, perched on his stool, stood at the stove by my side as I splashed the top of that first puri with oil, and then flipped it. He watched with much exclamation as it continued to balloon and as I carefully brought it out from the oil to drain on kitchen paper. We both admired its beautiful, happy golden, glistening roundness. It was too lovely for words.

The next thing that I know, dear reader, LG has completely taken over the stove: he is using tongs to pick up a circle of dough to slip it into the oil; he is using a kitchen spoon to carefully splash oil on the top of the circle; he is checking the bottom, and flipping—his puris are puffing, and we are both wooping and clapping as if we were both tiny children.

To be kids again (LG – above – is one, BTW), isn’t that wonderful? That, my friends, is what it is all about. Because food is not just fuel for the body, it is nourishment for the soul.

Post Script:

  • No cats, big or small, were harmed at the party or in the preparations leading up to it.
  • Some of you forgot to leave a comment with a link to your post. I hope I have not left out anyone. Do let me know if I have so that I may fix it.
  • I hope you had as much fun participating in this as I. It did threaten to become quite The Mad Tea Party…Thank you so much for coming.

PPS: I just noticed – this is my 100th post! It took all of one year to get there! Still, a century it is!

  1. Got to hand it to Neroli for the most touching post! It didn’t need a picture – the images were conjured up through the magical words!

    Great going with the puris! And a nod to moderation!

  2. i’m coming after you now with that belan. the roles are reversed. i feel like a pregnant camel with all those puris. no that i know what a pregnant camel feels like. lol

    Don’t be blaming that on the puri, now! :lol:

  3. You are fantastic. This was a great party and I was so glad I did not miss it!

  4. Mad tea parties are good, aren’t they :-D. and what this thing with the cat? Do you have a cat-i love cats =^.^=

    Yummy fiesta this is :).

    Bee and Jai had me riding a big cat in one, rather two, of my avtars!

  5. Hey Anita,
    Thanks so much for the wonderful poori party! My mom was so totally fascinated by this blog party- fun. I have deprived everyone in my home from puris for a long time i think (even though no one said anything). Thanks to u, i’m going to take a check on the fitness madness and give in to some spontaniety once in a while! You’re so right – it is indeed nourishment for the soul!
    Loved all the wonderful poori recipes!
    Hugs
    Latha

  6. Tea parties are fun….but Mad tea parties are funner (I know that is not a real word).
    I’m glad I fried my way to yours.

    What about the cat? I missed that one.

  7. I am trying to imagine how this party would look like in real life. The crunching, munching, the conversation and the laughter. Super fun definitely!

    Thanks for the lovely party, Anita.

  8. Thanks indeed, Anita; you and your guests have moved me beyond words.
    Without all of you, there is no party: joy is meant to be repeated and shared, and it’s been so wonderful to do so.
    Magic, beautiful, and delicious—what a party you’ve all made!
    My thanks indeed.

  9. Well done Anita, for a superb idea, that took off like a ballooned puree!

  10. A well attended party it was! and we all had fun commenting on each others poori’s :)

  11. Anita,
    Thank you so much for organizing this party. You did such a wonderful job! I am pretty sure I would never have attempted this had it not been for your poori-fest.Next, chapatis & achaars, please ;-)
    You are so right when you say that food is not just fuel for the body but also nourishment for the soul!
    I had loads of fun and am so glad that I was a part of it :-). Thank you, Anita :-)

  12. That was a wonderful party, even though I couldn’t come. sob sob! But it lived up to yr blog’s name. We should do parties like this once in a while. Was fun to see the whole blogging world deep-frying!

  13. [...]and that’s a lovely feeling, knowing that I can “whip these out” at whim now. And, perhaps most of all, thank you Anita for suggesting all of this puri-making madness in the first place! What a fitting way to celebrate 60 years[...]

  14. I checked Food Blog Desam after 3 whole weeks yest..and I was confused to see so many posts on puri bhaji..I read the details today on ur blog…M so sad that I missed this mad tea party..It was a wonderful idea to celebrate the Independence day.. I hope u get more such fantastic ideas..I will surely participate the next time..
    Swaps

  15. It was a great party, Anita! You brought so many people out of their proverbial shells! :)

  16. Hi anita, Nice party! I too am against dieting. Even my saatvik khana needs lot of ghee.
    First time here. you have a nice site. I need to go through the recipes.

  17. Wah what a party!thanks

  18. Oh Anita…what a wonderful time I’ve had; my two guests even asked me why I’d been depriving them of such a thing as puris all this time. I assume I’ll be making more sometime, but it was back to dhal-chaval, haak-zamodud today! Thank you…

    P.S. A few of my putty-tats =^.^= =^.^= =^.^= did join in by begging to taste puri-pieces.

  19. Thanks for the impromptu party…it was so much fun to do it, and very different from an event, since one didnt have to think too much about ” what can and what shall I make !!!! “…I guess, its fun to have Mad tea parties once in a while….:-)

    Absolutely. Keeps you sane!
    :lol:

  20. I know the last date went whizzing past Anita, but participate I will :-) I was in the Himalayas on a mountain climbing trip and am back now :-)

    We’ll make room at the table. :D

  21. Great party Anita. And thanks for bring out Poori Bhaji back to the table again. I hope to make this at once a month from now on. A Sunday brunch of Poori Bhaji does make the weekend kinda festive :).

  22. hey i don’t see my pooris and bhajis at the party :( did u finish them already ???

    Sorry, :-D . So, you too were amongst the one’s who forgot to leave a link! All fixed now.

  23. yah :D …thank u….

  24. “It did threaten to become quite The Mad Tea Party”

    it dint just threaten, it was quite mad alright :D – yippie

  25. Yippee :) :) I am still tipsy from all the partying. Drunk on Pooris for sure and happy as can be. Thanks for the lovely party. Lets do it again soon.

  26. wasn’t that fun? when is our next party?

  27. Yippee!! Glad to come over to your party, good job of inspiring us to do these.
    My doctor hubby says we all need to eat 30gm of fat everyday to keep our skin healthy and supple! One more excuse for me!;D

  28. that was truly a great party and all of them truly enjoyed participating.

  29. Congratulations Anita on the fst anniversary of A Mad Tea Party. This is truly one of the most enjoyable sites I have visited.

  30. Hats off to you Anita!! That was one kind of a party. There are food blog events but this was totally out of the world….. one by one people came out of hibernation and churrned up ballooned puris! It was more like a puri bhaji revolution going around….

  31. Hey,

    that was absolutely a finger licking round up..:)a hell of a party and what a delicious way to celbrate Independence day..
    count me in to fix a lil something the next time you plan a virtual te’te-a te’te..:)

  32. hi anita…
    feeling really happy to be there on your party …not being a very good cook….i saw my name on such a marvellous blog…participating….thankyou so much for hosting it to us…the new ones…
    thanks again !!!

  33. [...] What a Party! Out they poured…tiny ones, giant ones, white ones, brown ones, thin ones, thick ones, flattened ones, puffed […] [...]

  34. Wow! Number 73!!! Congratulations Anita!

  35. And congrats on the 100th post sweetheart!

  36. Great party there Anita though I didn’t partake of Puris literally, I enjoyed them virtually – every bite of it.

  37. Hi Anita – I just couldn’t do it. deep fry. two days to Cannes, i.e. bikini time. When I get back though…

  38. Wow, looks like I missed one rockin’ party… Hope you are going to host some more mad parties here… And congrats on the century Anita… :)

  39. What an awesome party, Anita! It was fun even to just watch and vicariously eat puri-bhaaji (hectic settling-in time at work meant that I never did get to participate).

  40. Such a fitting 100th post, all coinciding with the party!!! And hey I SAW your pic somewhere ;)

  41. and this is your 100th post?!!! Oh dear…that be a lot of recipes for me to try yet. :-(

    Thankfully I found the bharleli mirchis and cabbage pakoras early on… :-D

  42. drop in a comment when the next party comes on.. i wud love to participate :)

  43. Well, well Anita, it was good party indeed, :-) enjoyed participating in the poori party of yours and the big collection of pooris you got !!

  44. I missed this puri madness. Never too late though to wish you a marked and ejoyable century!

  45. Anita – Can’t believe that I also missed such a great party; I was away on holiday. I do plan on trying the recipe soon! Congrats on achieving a “century” (this from someone who only recently learned century was a cricket term!).

    A ton, a century…very British, I guess. Do try the poori – it is much fun to make.

  46. Mine is coming soon… pictures taken… but I left the connector cord back home… so next monday the post will be out… 2 weeks late… but my poori bhaji will help me take my place at the table

    It’s never too late!

  47. Dear Anita,

    Was it a goof up on my part. Because I did remember sending you my entry for the PooriBhaji Party.
    I don’t know what happended, I don’t see you have included my post in your roundup.
    Here is the link:

    http://zaayka.blogspot.com/2007/08/poori-with-moong.html

    Thanks
    Pintoo

    Sorry, Pintoo. Will fix it right away!

  48. hi anita…please check your vinayak chaturthi post…i left you a message!

    That was when I was away for a bit – Bhopal…didn’t get to a couple of other comments too, it seems…(rectified :D )

    Thanks for reading, Anu.

  49. [...] getting impacted by research applicable primarily to the West. It somehow, eventually led to a poori frying festival! At that moment, I think the blog did take a life of its own. I hope it was a welcome change of pace [...]

  50. [...] thing: the blog anniversary nears, and I was hoping to repeat our Mad Party from last year. I would like to hear ideas from you. Can you suggest a dish that might fit the bill – a dish that [...]

  51. [...] food as a point of beginning.  There was fun and trickery, food and drink, and periodic indulgences. But you know and I know that this blog would not be A Mad Tea Party without the jabberwocks and [...]

  52. [...] It was during my non-blogging days that Anita of A Mad Tea Party had organized the puri-bhaji party. Though I did not send in my entry, I did end up cooking it at home after seeing so many different [...]

  53. [...] and Independence Day folks!  Which also means it is Anniversary month here – time for the annual Mad Tea Party.  Any [...]

  54. [...] fat, not idle – but I digress.  We have another Party coming up.  For the First one we all fried poori and served it with potato bhaji.  For the Second Party we chose to share our deep fried love with batata vada in its many [...]

  55. [...] I know I know, Independence day party is long gone. But this is what we cooked in our cooking class yesterday. Yesterday’s class was an intimate group of 12 and everyone had loads of fun rolling the pooris. We made our regular pooris and spinach pooris. I am not posting the recipe here, since we have loads of versions here. [...]

  56. Lovely piece of writing. So much enthusiasm and a wonderful similie. You have a way with words as well as pooris.

    Thanks for reading, tailrace!

  57. [...] with the posts this past year and many off you might have veered away from the Madness.  And is it a Party if old friends won’t come?  Then one of you wrote in to remind me if I wasn’t [...]

  58. [...] that kind but it was quite by accident.  None of the subsequent celebrations were a patch on that first party.  From that party on, I have made a concerted effort to fry poories more often.  Every time the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers