mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

These are a few of my new favourite things….

In Bread, Tea Party, Vegetables, Vegetarian on May 26, 2008 at 7:20 pm

kootu podi

Most of us get addicted to reading blogs before we get one of our own. I wandered into the food blog world one fine day looking for some variety in my daily cooking. Nothing fancy, just everyday cooking that would show new ways with the same old ingredients.

Here are a few that have been added to our list of family favourites, and have been cooked more than once in my kitchen. Tried and tested…

    cheese muffins

  1. Get your morning off to a good start with these scrumptious Pumpkin Cheddar Muffins from Manisha – (Indian Food Rocks)
  2. Pel’s (Elaichi et Cetera) scintillating Thai soup Kaeng Thom Yam, and Nam Prik Pao, the secret paste behind it.
  3. Bee and Jai’s (Jugalbandi) Kootu podi (spice mix for vegetables cooked with dal) from Southern India.
  4. Bhinda ni Kadhi – Gujarati okra kadhi (Spice Cafe).
  5. Bisi bele hulianna, a rice dish that was the essence of Karnataka cuisine to me (still is!) from Saakshi (Healthy Home Cooking), a serving of which can give you upwards of 20 varieties of food in one dish (including spices, of course)!

Check them out, if you haven’t already! Happy eating, and repeating! :D

THE Soup
Nam Prik Pao

  1. lovely post..ur pics looks yummy

    Why, thank you!

  2. great pics…and thanks for the suggestions of the recipes to be tried out!
    :D

  3. Nice pics…..these recipes look delicious..

    They are!

  4. have you tried our haak yet? it’s from a kashmiri girl’s blog. :D

    You mean the the real thing?! ;-)

  5. Quite a feast there, Anita! And all really yummy choices :) Which one do i eat first :)

    Hmmmm start at the top – the muffin top!

  6. I smelled those garlic chips all the way in the foothills here.

    Those muffins look lovely!

  7. What a lovely collection of recipes. I find myself looking to blogs more and more for food inspiration. While I still inhale cookery books, the food I’m actually cooking is more and more from blogs. And it’s always lovely to read what other people are cooking / eating / tracking.

    Plus, thanks for linking to me – that rice dish is the epitome of variety!

    Blogs do highlight the comfort of ‘simple’ cooking…and at the click of a button!

  8. loveellyyy.. love those pics…
    :D Thanks.

  9. Sawat di…I see that the pic of my dish is the largest of the three. I wonder why…must appeal to the landscaping tendencies! But it is a delight…except when the maker is the only one eating it and then after a few days it gets ho-hum. Luckily it keeps for a loooong time! (if you were a bacteria, would you want to make a home in that caustic puddle?) :-)

    Your muffins look paler than the original- but I bet they’d be perfect to have with a salted peanut or two… :-D

    Kootu…that particular podi and the gravy it makes deserves an ode, but by the time I’ve neared finishing one the kootu is gone. ;-) It’s a staple here too- for multiple reasons!

    Bhindi become khadi is tempting me on this cool morning, but Bisi Bele Hulianna is what I want to make so that I can continue trying to say the title; although I am most likely slaughtering the pronunciation, it sure is fun to try(!)…new things. :-)

    Not the biggest, but definitely more of them..and they added up! No drained colour there!
    I really liked the flavour of corn coming through the muffins – somehow made it all seem a bit healthier :D .
    Kootu comes to my rescue in the summer when I must cook the same old bottle gourd every other day! Since it can be eaten with rice, it cuts down on the number of rotis I have to make!
    I was intrigued when I saw bhindi kadhi, and made it promptly after returning from my Gujarat trip – it is really yummy. You’ll love it too – besan lover!
    Bisi Bele hulianna is a favorite of mine since a long time…I would order it at Karnataka Sangha whenever we went there on a Saturday – it was their Sat special. They would serve it sprinkled with crisp boondi which added a great textural contrast.

  10. He said paler.

    Yes, pale…paler… :lol:

  11. Good collection of pics…

    Surely much more than that? The dishes are even better!

  12. Boondis can be used for savories as well?! I learned something new… I’m trying to imagine them dry and syrup-free- it’s difficult, but I’m doing my best! So, what happened to Karnataka Sangha? (sangha=song?)

    I bought a pound of bhindi to go with my precious besan that seems to dwindle before either ata or maida these days; is that normal or is something seriously wrong with me? :-D (I have a feeling someone else will answer that first!)

    Your family allows rice with kootu but not kadhi?! And just so you know: you’re making the very-exotic-to-me bottle-gourd sound like it’s laying around in heaps over there… you gotta play it cool, with an edge of mystery: “Good evening ladies and gentlemen; today I am going to cook a delightful dish using this pale-green, delicately-flavoured young gourd that you may, on rare occasion, find…” Just watch me when I get to rhubarb! :-D

    Yes, I bet the corn in the muffins does make them seemingly healthy…and you are certain they are edible using this particular recipe, right? :-D I just like to be careful…I mean, shaking a jar of lime pickles once a day is one thing…

    You haven’t had boondi raita or what?! Yummy it is! Soak in water till softened, sqeeze (gets rid of some of the oil as well), mix into beaten dahi, red chilli powder+roasted cumin powder+salt, maybe chopped coriander + some additional crisp boondi! Made from packaged boondi, naturally. youalso get boondi that has specks of coriander…

    The rest of my family allows only roti with everything:-( I’ll be sure to tell them that about lauki…but I don’t think it will make the son like it any better.

    This is the season when we get only gourds – all kinds – in the name of vegetables. Bhindi breaks the monotony now and then; spinach is good only till the monsoons arrive. Besan-things come to the rescue in a big way – kadhi, gatte ka saag (oooh – YUM), and of course, beans and lentils too.
    But there are mangoes! And lychees! And plums, and peaches…and cherries (not local – from the mountains and the foothills).

    I’m just going to run and hide before she comes along and kills you with her dagger-looks!

  13. Sorry to disappoint you two. Hmmph! But let me not disappoint you twice. There is lots more wrong with you than the amount of besan you consume. Good thing Wisconsin is so far away else we might get blown away by all that wind.

    And, it does take leaving India to appreciate dudhi. Anita, send him to the US for further education. I will help in every way possible. Pel, dudhi used to be called the poor man’s veggie. Um, I do love it now. Rhubarb? I think I told you about armpit flavor in primary school in Nairobi before, right? If not, I can return to tell you all. I am up wrapping gifts for teachers and writing thank you notes. I don’t have enough newspaper – to wrap all the gifts – or gift bags to reuse. I might just have to use Xmas gift wrap. Eeep!

    Store bought boondi? Anita, you don’t make your own boondi? That’s really terrible. All it takes is besan and spices in some hot oil. What’s the big deal. Tsk. Tsk.

    Now that I can get Ataulfos, I don’t care how much you shout about mangoes. We get lychees here, too. Plums from California. Even apriums – which to me sounds rather dirty but apparently it’s a cross between apricots and … tch! not that! Just plums! Today I went into shock when I saw the price of cherries. What used to be too much at almost $6 last year is almost $10 this year. No cherries for me.

    Not local? That’s at least two gaffes in one response. Tsk raised to infinity.

  14. Ah! You heard about the storm then? It should be quite windy by morning with possible hail and lord-knows-what-else but right now there’s just a gentle, cool rain falling; now and then I hear a clinkle ting tang clang mixed in with the plop-plops off the eaves and a shizzle on the maple leaves. Yes, it would be so nice to hear the rhubarb story again! [claps his hands together, cocks his head to one side and smiles in frozen glee. (whatever effect he had intended, the outcome appeared just short of deranged)]Give us all of the sour and juicy details: the nose-holding, the smell of ripe pits, the laboured swallows…it’d be just the thing to assist my segue to slumber! [he shoots a friendly, but smirky, wink toward the receiver of these words] Another cup of pea perhaps? [he picks up the newspaper from the coffee-table, suspiciously eyeing the various headlines. He notices Manisha gaping at the paper hungrily] Hold on now; I haven’t finished reading it yet…tsk, grabby grabby…

    Anita. Is gatte another of those marvelously-delicious greens that I have no access to? [sighs] It isn’t even listed in my little Hindi food-dictionary. The only thing I have right now to compete with that is a spindly wild mustard that I noticed growing in one of the flower-beds: enough for a nibble.

    I’ve long wanted to make my own boondis; finally I managed to procure a fine-enough strainer to fetch them from the oil. Ask me if I’ve made some yet. However the raitha sounds appealing! Spherical food. It runs rampant! Lychees and plums and peaches! Oh my! :-) We get lychees on occasion- so good fresh! Cherries is good. Very cheap here. In season nearer the end of summer. Apriums? They’re labeled “pluots” ’round these parts…someone needs to clean a lens. :-D

  15. I am so glad you liked it. :) I am honoured for being mentioned here. :)

  16. so glad i discovered this blog! a real (yummy) find.

  17. oh the pumpkin cheddar muffin sounds delectable!!

  18. Hi Asha,
    Glad to see you enjoy cooking from other blogs. I am hosting Tried And Tasted event dedicated to cooking from other blogs. This month, One Hot Stove is our favorite one. Hope you can participate.

  19. wonderful selection of new favourites there…with friends like this who tend to hog the comments section, its getting super charged to read through!! maybe i should subscribe to the comments too!! :)

  20. Hi there… hey, I saw your recipes.. all are really amazing and looks delightful to each.. great going my friend..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers