mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Classic Shrikhand

In Desserts, Low Fat, Maharashtrian, Under 30 min!, Vegetarian on September 30, 2009 at 11:29 pm

shrikhand

My previous post didn’t quite make the cut for Express Indian: 6-ingredients-or-under because I had one ingredient too many and there were some protests that I was breaking my own rules. Little do you know that we Delhi-ites are like that only; we know rules are made so that they may be broken!  Nor are we about to turn over a new leaf just because the Commonwealth Games are round the bend and the honourable Minister of Home Affairs P. Chidambram feels we ought to mend our ways. Some things take time.

Meanwhile, here is another Express recipe, this time from TH’s home state of Maharashtra: second to none, the Shrikhand, a creamy dessert that comes together in no time and involves no cooking.  But do plan ahead, more so if you are planning to make the chukka (hung curd) at home.  Shrikhand tastes best if you allow 12-24 hours for the delicate  flavours to meld.  Some like shrikhand to be really smooth and achieve this by passing the mix through a sieve.  In our house we like some texture to shrikhand and skip this step.  My mother-in-law used to add a few spoonfuls of malai (clotted cream) to the chukka.  Every now and then there would be a tiny nugget of the soured malai that gave the shrikhand an additional richness and texture.  But gone are those days of buying fresh water-buffalo milk every morning (long live low-fat lifestyles), skimming the malai off, adding some yoghurt for culture, and collecting it over the next week or two to make butter and ghee. The buttermilk from churning this cultured clotted cream made the best kadhi. Undoubtedly. Sigh.

Getting back to shrikhand.  These days packaged shrikhand comes in many flavours; amrakhand which has the pulp of alphonso mangoes mixed in, is one very popular flavour.  Some like to add berries.  The one that we like is the the homemade kind with saffron as the primary flavour.  Yes, the classic kind.  I know, I am predictable.  And ingredients – exactly six, including salt!  Does it make the cut, Manisha?

shrikhand
Kesari Shrikhand
(Saffron Shrikhand)

Should serve 3-4

2l yoghurt made from 3% or full cream milk
1/3 C sugar (or to taste)
a generous pinch saffron strands
a generous pinch freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 t salt (or to taste) (not optional!)
1/4 cup almonds, blanched and chopped (chironji is the traditional nut)

Hang yoghurt overnight in muslin (how to). You should have about 2 cups of chukka. Remove it into a mixing bowl. Crush half of the saffron. Or you can grind it using a teaspoon of milk. Add to the bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients. Using a metal spoon mix everything vigorously. Grate some nutmeg over it all; just a hint – be bashful. Add remaining strands of saffron. Mix again. Refrigerate 12-24 hours to allow the flavours to develop. Give a good mix – the saffron strands will bleed their gorgeous colour into the shrikhand. Taste for sweetness. Adjust salt. Spoon into small bowls; a little goes a long way.

That brings up the tail for this year’s Party. The Party got off to a slow start; there were some who had to be roused from their slumber, almost like waking up Kumbhakarana. The delay had the party coincide with the festive season of Navratri, Dussehra, and Durga Puja, which all culminated on Vijay Dashmi (day before) yesterday. All-night enactment of the Ramayana during the ten days of Dussehra is still a popular neighbourhood event much enjoyed all over North Indian.

I am so glad you could join in this celebration of the triumph of good over evil.  The Party menu (in the order of appearance):

Lisa (Beyond Russia) – Ayurvedic Avocado Salad
Preeti (Relishing Recipes) – Chocolate Peda
Pavani (Simple Food Bowl) – Andhra style Spinach Soya-granules Fry, Almond Mysore Pak
Kriyatv (Melting Pot) – Fish Fry (Konkani?)
Xiaolu (6Bittersweet) – Potato Methi (Aloo Methi) (Punjab/UP)
Madhuli (My Food Court) – spicy Masala Puri Chaat (Bombay?)
The Cooker
Corn Pulao (Maharashtra style) and an economy of instructions
Sapna (a reader contribution!) – Jhatpat Arbi (Punjab/UP)
Archana (another reader!) – Paneer Jalfrezi (Colonial)
SE (Denufood) – Hirvi Kobi Tava bhaji, and Tomato Halwa (Maharashtra)
Pel (Elaichi Etcetera) – Crab-Apple Pickles! (Konkani style)
Manisha (Indian Food Rocks) – not quite Paan, even better! Jeera Goli (Maharashtra)
Musical (Musical’s Kitchen) – Shimla Mirch Paneer (Punjabi to the core!)
Yours TrulyPalak Panir (Punjab), if I may be permitted…if not, then Shrikhand (above) (Maharashtra)
Aparna (My Diverse Kitchen) – Thengai Barfi (Cardamom flavoured Coconut Squares) (from, where else but, the coconut state – Kerala!)
Sra (When My Soup Came Alive) – Prawns and Greens (Andhra)
Shwetha (Cookie Shutter) – Fried Chicken (Andhra?)
Sig (Live to Eat) – Chicken Fry (Chettinad!) – much as she resisted, we got quite the heirloom recipe from her!
ISG (Daily Musing) – Beetroot Raita (bonus: Tomato Rice!) (Kongu Tamilian)
Sandeepa (Bong Mom’s Cookbook) – Narkel Naru (tender coconut ladoos from Bengal)
Lavanya (Pieces of paper, squiggly lines) – the evergreen Avial (Kerala)
and just in, Nirmala (Amma’s special) – delicately flavoured Rose milk payasam (Kerala wins!)

  1. Finally!

    Also a triumph over misinformation. :-D

    We like the smooth shrikhand. So please make that when we visit. And the palak paneer, also. And all these dishes. Shouldn’t take you much time, less than half hour each. Just 11 hours of back to back cooking time, much less if you multi-task the way you normally do!

  2. love everything on the party menu. Your shrikhand looks soo very smooth!

  3. The shrikhand looks so cool and refreshing.
    The party table is perfect but here is a quick one to fix – the raita link has some extra characters in the end.

    I am so glad you liked the beetroot raita. Its wiped clean any time I make it.

  4. the shrikhand is making me drool literally. Love the texture, looks so professional…i wish i could have bought a bowl from you riteaway!!

  5. I could totally do with a small bowlful of this Shrikhand! Some really diverse and hearty recipes there! Thank you, Anita, for this lovely party!

  6. You are going to kill me with your pictures. I just got home from work very hungry and almost licked the screen. I love shreekhand – I have never added salt to mine, so I am excited about taking my shreekhand making to a new level :)

  7. The Shrikhand looks yum- so creaaaamyy. I am going to try making some this weekend.
    Also, the round up looks great. Can’t wait to these quick Desi dishes.
    (btw- just spotted a typo- it should be Avial, not Avail..:))

  8. Lovely dish and amazing photos:) I was so tempted to eat Srikhand after looking at your post that I bought it from the store on my way home! I have plans to make Srikhand one of these days.

  9. Just perfect Shrikhand dear!!!! Like the party Menu:)

  10. That shrikhand is a favourite here too. My daughter loves the mango version (amarkhand, as she calls it!) and for my husband its good as long as its shrikhand! :)
    Great party. Could get better only if it was real, lekin Dilli to abhi bahut door hai!!

  11. Drooooolinggggg…!!! :)

  12. I think I’ve only had commercial Shrikhand and I didn’t like it. Neither did I like the Aamrakhand, they were uber-sweet for me. So when I went to Calcutta, I was hesitant to try the mishti/aam doi but found myself going back for more!

    Thanks for the round-up, Anita, and yes, you can remove the question mark against Andhra for my entry – I seem to have heard of it there and have seen it only in a Telugu cookbook.

  13. anita! i have to apologize for missing in action here! but sending you all my hugs – because i love this recipe. i am very much on a saffron trip right now. this looks so creamy and delicious.

  14. Oh oh, sorry for not bringing in anything anita! but I do hope you would feed me that creamy Shrikhand when we visit?..no…happy bloganniversay once again!

    all the dishes sound so delish!

  15. I was only half-asleep! Half-awake that means too…but I did notice a few nuts missing somewhere. Hmmm wonder where they went to? :-)

    But what’s a few nuts when you have all of these beeeyootiful dishes to enjoy- nice work everyone!

    Oh, and you too Anita! Happy Third-

    • Half-awake, half-asleep is not good; puts Kumbhakaran in a bad mood…
      There were a lot of them nuts ’round here…

      Thanks for humouring me, Pel! And, btw, it seems we can grow crab-apples in Delhi!

      • Well, plant a few seeds now so you’ll have enough to pick-’n-pickle when aMTP turns 23! :-) But seriously I do recommend them and I know you’re curious and willing to deal with the fuss- you did those marvelous things with the caronde, after all!

        Humouring? Was I doing that? Hope there weren’t no witnesses!

  16. yay, for textured shrikhanda.
    some people add sour cream which results in smooth (read slimy) shrikhanda.
    Happy (belated) Blog-budday.

  17. Oh thanks for letting me in at the last moment! I have only once tasted store bought shrikand and somehow did not like the slightly sour and sweet taste. Yours looks ultimate. And the saffron has added a orgeous color and this dish for any reason would be the queen in the party. Thanks for the lovely roundup. anybody calling for a quick party can catch up with this menu! Addind some rotis or rice this would be a gorgeous express party menu! Happy anniversary!

  18. lovely roundup,..and ur so right about delhites,..:-)

  19. Now this is a party menu I can use. I spend way too much time in the kitchen while hosting dinner parties. Time to start thinking “express” with the aging bones and all.

  20. it loos so ..hmm…comforting..i have many wonderful memories of this super dessert and your recipe is excellent…thanks

  21. Thank you, all of you, for playing along and making the Party so much fun! It couldn’t happen without your enthusiastic participation.

    And those of you who come by to read and join the Mad Hatters here, thank you to you as well; it wouldn’t be the party it is but for you!

  22. Hi Anita,

    I wanted to bring to your notice this following website, did you do a guest post or someone has copied as it is. http://blogs.soumyabrata.com/?cat=89

    • Anita

      This blog has yours and also Sra’s feeds in full on his blog. Maybe others too, I saw only these. The comments are also there !!!

      Does he have your permission ? I don’t know if this is legal or not. I have seen some of my posts in full in FoodBuzz though I have NOT signed up with them or submitted my posts to them. But they at least have the link to my blog while this one does not

      • Sandeepa, thanks for letting me know. Not only Anita’s and mine, Paajaka posts are also copied in that blog. So are some non-food blogs – I copy-pasted a few post titles into Google and find that they are all from other blogs, this Saumya Brata has his (or her) favourites!!!

        There is an ‘e-mail the author’ link in some of the v early posts which leads to a Feedburner mailing form and the Send To address says noreply@blogger.com. There is no other space on the blog that I can see to leave a message – I can’t even make out who owns that blogging platform and how to report it.

        Help, anyone?

  23. 1. Write an email to him at paul.soumyabrata@gmail.com and cc his other email address soumyabrata_bcrec@yahoo.com and tell him to take off your feeds.

    2. Contact him and tell him the same.

    3. Tell him via Twitter that he is stealing your content without your permission.

    4. Send him a message on Facebook

    5. Tell him on his WordPress blog and point to the offending blog.

    6. 5. Tell him on his Blogger blog and point to the offending blog.

    If he does not take your feeds off:
    7. Prepare an invoice for use of your content and mail it to:
    Soumyabrata Paul
    South Tarapukur
    Agarpara
    Kolkata, West Bengal 700109
    India

    What more do you need?

  24. Shrikhand is what i love to do with the greek yogurt here!! i missed ur party but i thot of coming over and joining it.. isn’t it the thot that counts?

  25. Hi, this is soumyabrata here. i understand your concern. but stealing was not my motive. actually, the articles about food, you all wrote, are really great. and very frankly, i love very very much to have delicious dishes. your sites are lucrative too in that aspect :) . that y i took the rss feed . just wanna mention that the page configuration was still under modification and a bold link to your site was obvious.

    sra emailed to me. and after removal of all your contents, i replied regarding the same.

    plz don’t misunderstand. my best wishes for you all.

    • Thank you for removing the content, Soumyabrata.
      If you like the content, visit our blogs! That’s why we have them! Please do not use the feeds to ‘post’ on your blog.

  26. Lovely picture.
    This is my son’s favorite.Loved the party menu too.

  27. the shrikhand looks rich and delicious, love the round up!

  28. Hi Anita,

    Loved the round up!! I have never tried the Shrikand and will definetely do so..The photographs are beautiful!!

    You guessed it right!! It is a konkani dish. So you can remove the question mark..

    Kriatv

  29. Wow…that’s an real creamy and delectable shirkand…love the flavour of nutmeg in shirkand…

  30. The luscious pictures of shrikhand on your blogpost woke up the latent puneri maharashtrian mulgi in me and I made on a full on marathi feast for diwali, yep including the shrikhand.

  31. Yummy..I love srikhand>

  32. Your recipe looks really yummy. I just found a small mistake You have written add salt … Adjust Salt. I felt like telling you coz you recipe looks really awesome and just didnt want people to get confused especially those who are new to the recipe.

  33. Sorry for being frank..

  34. Hi Anita,

    Late to comment..wanted to try this recipe over the weekend but not sure when you add the sugar to the hung curd. Do you add it along with the salt ?? I think this is something you forgot to mention in the recipe :)
    I have had only store bought srikhand and it was too sweet and for my taste and the texture kind off put me off srikhand. Yours looks good, Wanted to give this one a try and see if i can change my opnion about srikhand.

  35. Anita – wonderful blog and I truly enjoy reading it. I hate to be the one to point it out but Shrikhand is Gujarati not Maharashtrian. Please give my state due credit! :)

    Hmm…maybe it can belong to both? State boundaries are much more recent than culinary traditions. In fact, there might be differences in the two versions of Shrikhand. Take sambar, for example, I don’t think TN or AP or Karnataka can lay exclusive claim to it; it is traditional to all of them. Why fight over it when you can share! :D

  36. Hi,
    Came here sometime ago via Mahanandi and I love it. Am a regular reader now. I did not know making Shrikand is so easy. I tried it today & it came out excellent! I used home made yogurt from 1% milk. Thanks for the recipe!

  37. [...] in dealing with them. I didn’t even bring it up when TOI reproduced pictures from my Shrikhand post in their Hyderabad City Edition even though I was alerted that very day by a reader. What hope of [...]

  38. Looks great. however I am not sure you can call it a classic since most of the recipes I have come across from authentic chef written cookbooks use Green Cardamom instead of Nutmeg. Is the use of nutmeg that is more popular in northern India?

    Nope. This is a traditional authentic Maharashtrian recipe with no North Indian fusion attempt! Chefs are a different breed, I am talking home cooks who have grown up around their food.
    Nutmeg is very much a spice from peninsular India and used in myriad ways that includes being ground and boiled with coffee grinds for the Maharashtrian cup! When I was traveling in Kerala I came across pickled nutmeg!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers