mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Lime Cake for the Party

In Baking, Eggs, Tea Party on October 3, 2012 at 10:52 am

I sure botched up the invitation to the annual Party this time.  I published the announcement as a page and some of you missed it.  At least, that is the face-saving escape route I am taking.  It has been six years of blogging here.  In August.  Here I am updating an anniversary post more than a month late.  Like the White Rabbit in Alice, I am always rushing to wherever I’ve got to be.  As far as the blog in concerned, in any case.  I am never late for professional meetings or for my class.  Perhaps, I ought to set myself deadlines here as well.  But, won’t that make the blog more like work?  This is my space away from work.  Let’s keep it that way.  No deadlines; no stress.

lime cake with lime glaze

Even though I have slowed down here, the blog still manages between 800-1000 hits a day.  Some of those are from old-time readers and I cherish them.  New ones get added, some old ones drop out.  But, some, the really mad ones, stick.  And, this Party really is a celebration of that madness.  A welcome to new readers and a big thank you to the old ones – it wouldn’t be fun without you!

When the deadline for the event was extended for the late-comers (Manisha usually brings in the tail, and this time quite the tale she has!), I thought I ought to cook some more for the party.

September 28 was TH’s birthday and my sister urged me to not be my lazy self and bake a cake.  I too felt I ought to.  So after wrapping up a full day’s work in the office, I came downstairs determined to do something special for dinner where we would eat cake because I had no inclination to roll rotis.

I had half a bag of pohe (flattened rice)…some leftover rice from lunch.  But let me get to the cake first.

More than the cake I have had this lemon glaze on my mind ever since I saw Donna Hay pour it over her lemon cake.  So I decided to bake a lime cake.  I checked some recipes (this and Jamie Oliver’s).  It was too late to thaw butter now.  Trusted peanut oil would have to do.  And limes could substitute for lemon.  I didn’t print out the recipes and decided to go with recall and experience.  Thankfully, cakes are quite forgiving.  This is not Masterclass anyway.

I measured out the ingredients and used the electric mixer to whip it all together.  The cake was is in the oven shortly.  I set to work on the kande-batate pohe.  Just one dish for a birthday spread?  Lime rice to the rescue!

When TH reached home at about 8 o’clock, dinner was ready and the house was filled with the smell of the cake in the oven.  Nice welcome on a birthday, don’t you think?

But we weren’t going to sit to dinner right away.  A 49th birthday calls for a toast.  We sat ourselves down with my favourite drink of all – a classic lime Margarita.  See the theme here?  Lime all the way!

lime cake with lime glaze

Lime Cake with Lime Glaze

2 1/2 C maida (all purpose flour)
3/4 C peanut oil
1 C sugar
4 eggs
zest and juice of one lime*
3/4 t baking soda
1/4 C yoghurt (or buttermilk)

for the glaze:
1/4 C granulated sugar ( I powdered mine since Indian sugar had huge grains)
juice of a lime*

* I had just the one lime to spare. I used 1/4th of the juice in the cake and used the rest for the glaze. I would definitely use the amount I am specifying next time because I really like the tartness of limes.

Preheat oven at Gas Mark 4. Prepare a 9″ baking tin by oiling and lining the bottom with parchment paper. To measure flour, spoon it into the cup measure. Sift the flour and the baking soda. Take the oil and sugar in a mixing bowl. Whisk with an electric blender mixing in one egg at a time till well blended and light. Whisk in the juice and zest and the yoghurt. Mix in the flour till blended. Pour into the baking tin. Bake in a preheated oven at Gas Mark 4 for 40-45 minutes or till a pick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool for 15 minutes before removing from the pan. Remove the paper lining the bottom and place the cake on the serving plate.

lime cake with lime glaze

To prepare the glaze, mix the ground granulated (no need to grind if your sugar is fine) sugar into the lime juice, Stir a couple of times. Spoon on to the top of the cake while the cake is still warm. Coax the glaze over the edge of the cake so that it drips down. Slice and serve with ice cream.

lime cake with lime glaze

It was a late night.  We ate the cake just before midnight.  Earlier in the night I got a text message on the phone from TH sitting across from me.  He wondered how I knew he had lime rice on his mind.  What can I say; I can read minds.  And, that he is easy to please.

The Tea party roundup coming up next!  Sorry, if you missed the party because of my tardy attempt at doing it differently.  But, I try to keep an open house.  It is always tea time here!

  1. awwww…I loved this mad lime party post….reading this blog always makes me happy….lots of love and happiness…cheers!

    Thanks, Reeta! Cheers! ;-)

  2. Hi Anita,
    I simply love the recipes you post.. I myself enjoy cooking for my family and it acts as a stress buster for me!
    Thanks for being a such a lovely guide n a writer..
    Here, for above recipe you haven’t mentioned about the number of eggs needed..I am still raw at baking part :(

    Thanks for reading, Shilpy.
    Have fixed the ingredients list! Thanks for pointing that out!

  3. this is lovely! no eggs too… i love citrus flavoured anything… better if its a cake! happy birthday to the blog…

    Oops! Sorry, Arundati! There are eggs, in fact, more than usual! I seem to have left them out of the ingredients! Fixed now.

    • Tch! If you read the method, you will know that you have to automagically conjure eggs out of thin air. Oh, An-eee-ta! Fix it, I say! Else it’s a mad recipe for a mad lime cake! ;-D

      What’s a few eggs out of thin air!
      Thanks for pointing that out!

  4. Lime-n-lemony party! Happy birthday to V. :-)

    Thanks, Raaga! I will tell him!

  5. What? Are you saying I’m mad? You could be right.

    Belated birthday wishes to V! Big year next year! Oh boy! I like the lime-themed birthday party. It matches your walls! Whoever invented lime glaze needs to be given the Nobel Prize.

    And, is that butterscotch ice-cream? *drool*

    Who said that? Off with their head, I say!
    Happy Birthday to you too, Manisha! Yes, the crunchiest butterscotch too!

  6. Hi Anita,
    I love everything about your blog…..it’s always a pleasure to see a notification of your new post in my inbox. I wish you’ll always find the time to write your blog.
    In one of your older posts you mentioned (not as a separate recipe on its own) a quick recipe with leftover boiled potatoes. I know it was with yogurt and a tadka with hing, can’t remember the rest..I still remember how delicious it was hough!! Please could you help me find it?
    Best,
    F

    Thanks for reading, Farzana! Here’s the recipe for Aloo ka raita for you!

    • Thank you ever so much.

      You are welcome, Farzana. The ‘search’ button comes is very handy for such things!

  7. I almost made to the party but the madness here prevented me from getting to your Mad Tea Party even though I had the food with me. But loads of birthday wishes and for many more such tea parties to come. :)

    Thanks, Aparna!

  8. Sorry, that was supposed to be “Amost made IT to…..” :D

  9. One of the few cakes I’ve made in my life had a citrus glaze which seeped through and did nothing to mask the bitterness left by the orange peel but everyone ate it and even asked me for the recipe!

    I didn’t have the time to re-read Alice or do anything to get around that and participate somehow, will try and be more creative next year!

    Bitter is also a good taste! They must have relished it more than you did! But this glaze is so amazing and dresses up a cake with practically no effort!
    Don’t worry about the Party; you can always enjoy a cup at your leisure!

  10. You freeze your butter!?

    Yes, I freeze the homemade, salt-free, cultured butter [I don't make it but get some from my mom]. It goers rancid in the refrigerator in just a few days otherwise.

  11. 6 years- tht’s huge; wishes for many more such milestones and hope the b’day celebrations were fab. I loved the recipe; the limey glaze would have upped the pep !

    Thanks, Priya! That glaze is truly amazing, and so simple too!

  12. [...] I was still waiting for some friends to arrive, I decided to bake a cake while we waited!  The lime cake with its limey-glaze was a great way to celebrate TH’s birthday which ended up being completely lime themed!  [...]

  13. One word for the cake “Drool-worthy” and you definitely got me …am proudly one of the madest ones here:-)

    Being mad is a prerequisite here, I think!

  14. Be it cake , cheese cake , fries , rice , subzi , rasam – A splash of lime makes it all worthy!!!

    Yes, lime can be that magic ingredient!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers