mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Bong Mom’s Shorshe Dharosh

In Bengali, Tea time Reading, Vegetarian on May 26, 2013 at 3:43 pm

BOOK REVIEW AND RECIPE FROM
BONG MOM’S COOKBOOK By Sandeepa Mukherjee Datta

Bong Mom's Cookbook 2

Pour yourself a cup of tea, find a cool spot [Delhi is HOT at the moment] and watch, through the window of this charming book, as the Bong Mom goes about her day in her suburban US home.  Weekday stories of hectic mornings with two girls to ready for school, and stories of relaxed Sunday mornings with phulko luchi and aloo chorchori.  It is not a cookbook but food is the central theme that ties the stories together.

A Bong Mom’s Cookbook could be a glimpse into your own life, more so if you are a foodie, and who isn’t one?  I could relate to the anecdotes about childhood summer holidays filled with food memories.  Isn’t it amazing how some memories are so clear in our minds?  And their associations stay with us forever.

In winter when the first flush of fresh sweet green peas flooded the markets, my Dida would make koraishutir kochuri for those evenings of adda.  Making them needed a little preparation.  Soon after lunch Dida would climb three flights of stairs to the terrace where the winter sun cast a warm glow.  My mother, a couple of aunts, cousins and I would follow.  we would spread out coloured maadur and settle down, our feet stretched out on the reed rugs.  Sitting there, we would shell the tender peas from their fleshy, pale green pods, biting on their sweetness every now and then.  Other mashis would join us.  They would passionately discuss Uttam Kumar’s new movie, discuss the third aunt’s daughter-in-law and complain about the peas this year not being as sweet as those in their childhood.  I would wander off to perch myself on a stack of loose red bricks and peer over the high railing to watch the busy road below where men on bicycles carried heavenly liquid notun gur in earthen pots and sweet balls of rice crispies, their seller shouting ‘Joynagar er Moa chai…M-o-a’ in a raspy voice.  When the cold winds from the north rustled through the glossy leaves of the jackfruit tree in the garden and the shadows from the railing stretched long enough to reach the jar of pickles kept out for sunning, we knew it was time to go down to the warm kitchen.

The book is replete with such recollections and makes you nostalgic about days gone by.  Even the mention of the brass pump-stove in her Chhoto Dida’s kitchen made me dreamy eyed!  The book also chronicles the process of orienting oneself in a new world, the quintessential immigrant from India, in the landscape of America, the land (or superstore!) of mind-boggling choices.  But the resourceful Bengali (as others of similar ilk) soon figure out where to source their Bangla fish.  Many amongst us also know all about packing a bag for that first trip to the US – the pressure cooker and spices take precedence over everything else.

It is hard to believe that the Bong Mom started to cook in earnest only after landing in America!  As a young professional in Bombay, she lived mostly on cafeteria food with an occasional street food trail that started with a Frankie-roll at Churchgate and ended with warm rabri at Malad.  This can only make you miss home food even more and it is only natural that phone calls home got “…gradually…peppered with more recipes than I had ever asked for.”

We also learn that, despite the obvious obsession with fish, Bongs Also Eat Veggies!  This chapter contains what I found to be the most hilarious recounting of an episode of mistaken identity which got the Bong Mom and her husband, the H-man, an invitation to the most elaborate Bengali feast when they were still struggling students in the US.  As they are chatted up they realise they have been mixed up with an illustrious researcher of nano-porous materials, which they obviously are not.  They decide to leave quietly but not before completing the meal, partaking of the last course – mishti – of lyangcha and bhapa doi.  The incident and the meal left a lasting impression and pushed the Bong Mom to start her blog.

shirshe dharosh

There is the tongue-in-cheek humor directed at herself and all the food bloggers out there – our passion, bordering on obsession, about taking pictures and the lengths we will go to to style the picture just for the blog.

Beautiful plates, pretty countryside, food set out in a way I have only dared to imagine. A sprig of thyme daintily tucked in, a swirl of cream, a sprinkle of coarse pink salt all done painstakingly to perfection. People eat like that, even with toddlers tugging at their aprons? They have rolled up napkins and beautiful crockery set out on distressed wood tables for a quiet lunch at home? No one actually gulps down dal and rice, licking their fingers and standing by the corner, like me?

Don’t underestimate the H-man either.  He makes a mean dhone pata chicken and is the critic to beware of.  He has serious observations about what constitues an egg curry.  But of course, his mother’s spicy dim kosha is legendary.  You will find recipes for both in the book!

Another great thing about the book is that you can start reading from wherever you open the book; the chronology is not central to enjoying the book.  In fact, that is how I read it: I was just flipping through and before I knew it, I had gone through about half the book as the TV tried to vie for my attention in vain!  If you want to order your own copy of this immensely readable book (and not just for the Bengali recipes), here’s a link to the Flipkart page.  I suggest you do it right away!  I wish the book had included a recipe index; it would make it so much easier to get to the recipe that you are looking for.  For more Bengali recipes (with pictures!) you can always go to the Bong Mom’s blog!  You can also download the QR code reader and scan the code on your smartphone from the last page of the book to search through her blog.

PS: I almost forgot! I have two copies of Bong Mom’s Cookbook from the publisher to give away to the readers of A Mad Tea Party! If you would like to enter the giveaway, just leave a comment on this post; tell me why you would like to have a copy of your own! Two winners will be picked randomly. The giveaway is open to readers in the US and India only (you make up 98% of my readers!). The giveaway is open for two weeks (till June 10th) after which I will pick the winners, who will have a week to get in touch with me.

I picked the mustardy shorshe dharosh to try.  It is not for the weak, but if you are like me and like strong tasting foods, give this one a try.  I love, love, the spiciness of mustard, and was not overwhelmed by the quantity of mustard in this.  If you are chicken (by the way, shorshe chicken is great too – I tried a recipe last month and both the son and I loved it!), then follow Sandeepa’s tip and use just the water from the mustard paste for a more mellow mustard flavour.

shirshe dharosh
Shorshe Dharosh
Okra in a mustard sauce

(reproduced from Bong Mom’s Cookbook, by Sandeepa Mukherjee Dutta)

18-20 bhindi/okra

To make mustard paste:
1 tbsp mustard seeds
1/2 tbsp posto/poppy seeds
2 tbsp fresh grated coconut (optional)
1 tbsp yoghurt
1 tbsp water
4 green chillies
salt to taste

1 tbsp kasundi. If you do not have kasundi, double your mustard paste by using 2 tbsp mustard and 1 tbsp poppy seeds.

For tempering:
1/4 tsp nigella seeds
1/2 tsp turmeric powder

salt to taste
sugar to taste (optional)
2 tbsp mustard oil

(I doubles the recipe for the quantity seen in the pictures.)

Wash the okra and then pat dry. Chop off the head and tail after drying.

Soak mustard and poppy seeds in water for 20 minutes and then make a paste with all ingredients listed under ‘mustard paste’. The paste should be smooth. If more water is needed add a small quantity. Instead of the paste you can also use the readymade mustard powder.

ingredients for shorshe dharosh

ingredients for shorshe dharosh

mustard paste

Note: If the pungency of the mustard is too much for you, you can sieve the mustard paste and use the mustardy water, but then you need more of the paste to make enough liquid.

Heat 1 tbsp oil in a shallow frying pan. Saute the okra with a sprinkle of turmeric at medium heat. Cover and saute for about 4 minutes till okra is lightly but not fully cooked. Sprinkle salt and remove and keep aside.

bhindi saute

Heat another tbsp oil. Temper the oil with nigella seeds. When the seeds start spluttering, lower the heat and add the mustard paste. Cook the paste for a minute at low-medium heat. Add the kasundi. Then add the lightly fried okra. Add 1/4 tsp turmeric powder. Raise the heat and toss everything well together for one more minute.

Now add 4-5 tbsp water and salt to taste and cover the pan. If you have added kasundi be careful with the salt. Let the okra cook in the mustard sauce. If needed add a little more water. The tender okra will cook fast and be done in about 5-6 minutes. Remove the cover and check. The sauce will be thick and clinging to the okra. Add a little sugar and mix nicely. Drizzle a tsp mustard oil and serve hot. Tastes best with white rice.

shirshe dharosh

shirshe dharosh

  1. Oooh someone has caught up with posting here…cool! Mustard oil, mustard seeds…love the flavours…That the Okra needn’t be cut into tiny pieces for this recipe above is a pleasure and it is a different take on the bhindi (we usually have kati hui pyaz wali bhindi or masala bhindi).
    Would love to have the book for many reasons..have been reading rave reviews everywhere…also, I see bengali recipes are quick, healthy and nutritious. And I love cookbooks that accompany household tales…love the tidbits and a peep into someone’s “food life”…cannot get more delicious than this!

    I know one of the reasons you would like the book! I wish you good luck!

  2. wonderful review………….. Nice giveaway……………. happy to participate in the giveaway.
    adding mustard seeds paste is new to me……………..

    You need to also tell me why you want the book, Sharanya!

  3. Wonderful recipe. First time I have come across the use of yogurt in the mustard sauce probably will add a tang.

    Just the subtlest hint of a tang.

  4. Lovely review! How would you compare this with Keralite, vendakka khichadi? Have you tried it?

    Yes, I have tried it – and I LOVE it! I follow Madhur Jaffery’s recipe in A Taste of India. Kichadi is more a raita, while this one is the main dish to serve with rice.

    • It would be great to try this recipe and win the book. When I made vendakka khichadi due the mustard used I thought wow this sounds Bengali inspired! Comparing 2 cuisines and trying to find similarities is very intriguing for me. Also Sandeepa is someone who I have been following for very long so this book will be cherished!

      Mustard paste really does make you go “wow!”

  5. Hi Anita,
    First of, love your blog,recipes , writing and photography. I have tried many of your recipes (but never commented) latest being the Maharashtrian peanut chutney- loved it. I am a gujju married to a Bong and love Bong food. Their use of mustard paste and oil were a revelation and had a big “Aalo” moment when I tasted mustard kashundi. I wouldn’t mind having this book, having it handy will help me recreate some amazing flavors I have tasted in Bong homes. -Neha.

    Ah – ha – got you to de-lurke! :-D

    Yes, I think you will love the everyday gems in the book!

    • yup, sure did. Will comment more often…it was easy – read blog, happy face but don’t stop there, comment and even more happy face.

      I see there is stiff competition for the give away! Thank you for replying. -Neha.

      Big Happy Face, here as well, Neha!

  6. Thanks Anita for the lovely review. I am commenting but ignore me for the giveaway :-)

    Many congratulation, Sandeepa, on your first great book!

  7. Hi Anita,
    Taking liberty to leave a message for Bong Mom if she reads comments again, hoping you won’t mind:

    I follow Bong Mom too, it was a pleasant surprise to see “Mad Tea Party” talk about Bong Mom, two food blogs I visit frequently!.

    Learnt to make Bhappa Doi, ombol and mustard paste following Bong Mom’s recipes and they all came out good, husband gave thumbs ups!. Actually I live in the US so it is easy for me to follow her recipes as she mentions ingredients I can find here. There really aren’t cook books dedicated to Bengali cuisine on the market here and I am glad her book is so well received.
    Thank you, Neha.

    Of course, you are welcome to, Neha.

  8. Dear Anita,

    I am a regular reader of your blog, commenting for the first time (compelled atleast a little by the giveaway bait :)) Nevertheless, congratulations on your blog-the visual presentation is wonderful and you make everyday food enriching. Your Punjabi chole is my favourite recipe, it is the only recipe that I have followed without tweaking because it is AWESOME. Your last post was written at a time when I have myself been contemplating summer greens, having managed to try kulfa, naari, red amaranth, malabar spinach and drumstick leaves within the last year. Thank you for your blog.
    As for why I want the book: a) food is inextricably tied to our memories. a cookbook written as a personal memoir is thus authentic. b) bengali cuisine has simple flavours with personality, something very different from my Madrasi cuisine which tends to veer toward complex flavours c) bengali cuisine does interesting things with bitter flavours (and also pungent ones owing to the use of mustard oil), including using neem leaves and karela that i am inspired to learn.

    Yay, got another one to delurke! Thanks for reading, Vrishali!

    I cooked drumstick leaves once myself, and they were truly great!

  9. Hi Anita,

    I’m an avid reader though silent reader of your blog. I love the way you describe the history behind the dishes you create as well as the eye-catching photos you post. The moment I read about the giveaway I just had to participate as books with stories and recipes are my favourite kind of books. My small but budding collection of foodie books consists of “Climbing the Mango Trees” by Madhur Jaffrey, “Monsoon Diary” by Shobha Narayan and “A Homemade Life” by Molly Wizenberg. I’m sure the “Bong Mom’s Cookbook” would make a welcome addition to this collection :-)

    Thanks for reading, and commenting here, Maria!
    I hope you make an addition to your collection of books on food soon!

  10. Hi Anita,
    Quite an interesting way to cook Bhindi.

    Bong mom’s blog has been around for as long as I have been reading. I do visit her blog every now and then as Bengali dishes are very different and new to my palate.Very happy to see that she has a book now.

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Hey, AA_Mom! Glad to see that you tried the recipe already!

    • Yum! Made this and it was liked by all in our house. A keeper recipe for sure. Thanks BongMom and Anita

      Another new fan of shorshe!

  11. Hi Anita,

    Thank you for the give away .I read The Bong Mom’s blog and would love to have a copy of her book.

    s.g.s

    Of course, but also tell us why you want it!

  12. Did you acquire a new mortar-and-pestle? (ragda?) I love that pic right after the ingredient-list with the reflecting light!

    You are getting forgetful – it the same one that I have features before (I think…). The one that I haven’t displayed yet is the cast iron mamdasta I acquired last year!

  13. Hi! Anita,

    A nice sweet review!! As a child growing up in the steel city of Jamshedpur, and having Bengali “Mashis” and aunties as neighbours means a lot of my childhood memories esp that of food is tied up with Bengali food, the taste, the smell and the flavors…amazing. My first recollection of Fish was at my neighbours house, Maccher jhol…one of my favorites.

    Sadly, I have never mastered the art of cooking Bengali food and hoping getting a book written well with loads of interesting bengali recipes will change that!!( Ahem!!A broader hint you will never get,Anita, I would love a copy of the book).

    Looking forward to your next post:-)

    This will be a good book for you then – simple, easy recipes that are suited for everyday cooking!

  14. Thanks for the giveaway! I’m a regular reader of BongMom’s blog and it would be a pleasure to read about her kitchen exploits on paper and try out some of the recipes that aren’t on the blog anymore.

    I wasn’t aware that Bong Mom had removed some recipes from her blog?!

  15. This recipe looks delicious! I have been reading the BongMom’s blog for a while now and would love a copy of the book.
    Thanks,
    Sapna

    Good luck for the draw, Sapna!

  16. This is Anuradha- Punjabi fan of Bangla ranna:-) Have been referring to your blog and site for the last 2 years and find it real,interesting and helpful. In your stories I find the soul of your cooking-and that is what makes it really special. Having moved to Kolkata ,recently it makes it all the more valuable-just this evening I bought pui saag and made it your way.A couple of days back it was the potol…so the list continues . Keep sharing and blogging-it makes many of us keen for insights into bengali cuisine and lifestyles very happy! and last but not the least-reminds me of all my special friends from Bengal and their love for food. I love being in Kolkata and must admit the misti,maach and sarees make it an hugely lovely experience.

    The book will be a mirror of the life around you, Anuradha!

  17. Oh love Bong mom and I would love to have her book! The book sounds fantastic.

    It is!

  18. Hi,
    I enjoyed your review and posts. I have been following Bong Mom for a while now.
    I would like to participate in your giveaway.
    I have been in the U.S. for 13 years now, but I grew up in Calcutta in a Goan household. I love Bengali food but at the time I lived there, there were no Bengali restaurants, so one had to wait for invitations from “Bong moms” of my classmates.
    Moving to the U.S. meant those invites no longer came unless I visited Calcutta.
    I married a meat-loving, fish-loving Patel who has never visited India. He grew up in England while his father is an Indian from Kenya.
    As a result, my kitchen pantry is an amalgamation of ingredients for several cuisines. For example: Spanish chorizo (closest to Goan sausage), Gujju namkeen, British shepherd pie mixes, African peri peri sauces and the ubiquitous northern Indian staples.
    What is missing on my dinner table are meals needed to satiate that part of my palate that is Bong. I tried a few recipes from Bong Mom – and my family loved it.
    I would like to obtain Bong Mom’s cookbook in order to promote Bengali cuisine in my global household and introduce the U.S. side of my family to its delights.
    Thanks
    Bridgette

    The book will be really at home on your varied table, Bridgette!

  19. First the most important, I would like to participate in this give away.
    I started reading Bong Moms Blog since I became a bong mom myself (many years now) in a foreign country and was seeking solace in all things Google delivered to me on parenting, baby food and related stuff, one day I stumbled on Bong Mom’s cookbook. Actually in the similar time I found your blog. You guys and some more of your kind provided immense moments of laughter, nostalgia, relaxation, parental tips, and lots of recipes to a tired new mother stuck in the cross roads of loneliness, higher studies, newborn child and an expat life.
    I would buy the book anyways, but before that I thought why not give my luck a good try (although I have never won any such lucky draws before)!

    We are happy to have you in the community too, Chandrima! Who knows, this might be your first lucky win

  20. Bong Mom rocks. My passion for cooking actually started after I started following her blog.

    Her passion for food comes through in the book!

  21. Nice review. Rings true for many.

    Thanks!

  22. What a lovely write-up! Thoroughly enjoy the Bong Mom’s cookbook as it helps me delve into childhood memories while curling my toes on my favorite couch with a steaming cup of garam chai! Can’t wait to read more…

    Food + nostalgia…!

  23. I would definitely give this a try. Like to find new recipes for okra. Besides I have made Eri Sheri – yellow pumpkin in a mustard sauce. Though there was a time I went overboard with the mustard and had pungent fumes that seemed to come out through the ears and nose.
    And yes, I would not mind a copy of the Bong Mom cook book. I have frequented her blog, and would like a hard copy at my finger tips.

    That’s a recipe I do not know! Have made erisseri though.

  24. OH where to begin…two of my favorite bloggers on one page. As for Anita…she is definitely my first love when it comes to food bloggers. I stumbled upon her blog 4 yrs. back when I was carrying my 1st baby and all I could think of was food..read through her archives as if my life depended on it n drooled and drooled and drooled. Well researched posts with lovely pictures…not just the recipes but an entire culinary experience. Her blog became my ‘’bar’’ for judging other food blogs. Her’s is the only blog where I have subscribed to email alerts. Her mad tea parties with aloo bondas n pooris uff!
    N then there’s Bongmom…I have been reading her blog from say a yr or so but have already fallen for her style of writing…no fuss,straight from heart n again not just recipes but a dash of nostalgia accompanied with drool worthy pictures. I am anyways a big fan of anything Bong..from food to names to hulhuli to alpona…I have a collection of books by Chitrita Banerjee and am sure Bongmom’s cookbook will add to the fun. I like it when stories/memories/nostalgia/travel are all interwoven with food and Bongmom’s cookbook falls in that category only. In fact, I have a small group on fb and I am holding a giveaway on its 1st anniversary and was planning to add this book to the hamper( not the same one that Anita WILL GIVE ME…nah! Can’t give away a gift from my favorite blogger) . AND if all these reasons are not enough Anita…then let me add a trump card- m carrying my 2nd baby now…please do indulge a pregnant mad cow. – Yamini

    Am I glad you delurked, Yamini, or what! :mrgreen:
    I wish you would comment more often – it is very encouraging! A blog is nothing without its readers – who wants to write about food if no one’s reading! I hope you will write in now and then.

    I have to get myself a copy of Chitrita banerjee’s book now!

    • yay!! my food goddess replied to my comment. I would strongly recommend Eating India and Hour of the Goddess by Chitrita Banerjee

      I am putting these books on my list!

    • Chitrita Banerjee’s Seasons and Festivals of Bengal. Great book. I am going to order “Hour of the Goddess” today

      • Eeeeehaaa!! Even bongmom commented…it might not be a big deal fr both of you..but fr me…ahh i feel like a celeb. also @ anita- this is not the 1st time i am delurking. I used to post under the name of “mini”..as yours ws the 1st blog i read or commented on,was too timid to use my “real name” n stuff.

        Out, out, with the ‘full’ name! ;-)

  25. Hi! I am a non- Bengali from Kolkata who loves Bengali fare. Once I just stumbled upon Mad tea party and Bong moms blogs and have since followed you religiously. It’s Bong moms wonderful anecdotes that make her recipes that much more tasteful! I would love to own a copy of her awesome book and what’s better than winning it in a giveaway!

    Wishing you luck, Shruti!

  26. Hello Anita,
    Am a frequent reader of your blog and sometimes visit the Bong Moms cookbook too. I love Bengali food, the best features of it being rice, mustard oil and fish! Would love to have a copy of this book, so please count me in the giveaway!

    Hi, Joyce! You are right: rice, mustard oil, and fish – what is there to not love!

  27. Hi Anita,
    I have been visiting your blog often and look forward to new entries. I like the way you have a strory behind every recipe that you post. Reading you post it seems like Bong Mom’s cook book is the same way. I would love to participate in your giveaway. Thanks for posting the giveaway.

    Here’s wishing you good luck for the draw, Chitra!

  28. Having to go to a foreign soil with a foody husband and zero experience in the kitchen, Bong mom was a savior. She was an awesome guide in my lonely kitchen ventures. To top it all, being a Hindi girl from Patna and having married into a Bengali family, Bong Mom’s cookbook was the one blog that showed me the way into my new family’s life which of course starts and ends with Food(given they are Bongs :P ). And adding to all that, the nostalgia that her anecdotes trigger, somehow made me long for so many things from back home. The Chingri malai Curry from her blog still remains one of my greatest triumphs !! After 3 years of marriage and a year and a half outside the Desh, I am back in Kolkata and Bong Mom is now an important part of my little story in more than one way ! I would love to own a copy of her awesome book ! :)

  29. Awesome review! I would like the book for a number of reasons..1. the only bong food I know is rasogullas..so this is one opportunity to know more.
    2.Where do you find bong recipes (apart from her blog)???? The only Indian cooking books you find are south Indian, Punjabi and Gujarati….sometimes Mughal.
    3. I love reading kitchen tales :)

    There are tons of books on Indian cuisine out there! But a Bengali one will be good to have too!

  30. I have been following Bong Mom’s blog for a few years now and would love to own a copy of her book. I love food memoirs and think this would be an interesting read. Also, I am not too familiar with Bengali-style cooking and would like to learn how to make a few dishes through her book.

    Thank you!

    Good luck to you!

  31. yummmy!! somehow with the major differentiation of the oils used : Mustard in Bangali against Vegetable/Coconut(in the coast) I could relate to the recipe and of course the stories.. in stead of Winter.. as we dont have any in Mangalore as such.. my stories are with rainy seasons and jackfruits, summer with mango ladden trees and us cousins lining up to help Louis(name changed) the domestic help to lower the fruit laden baskets to be led inside for storing under warm balnkets for quick riping.
    thanks for the post! :)

    Ah, the bountiful coastline of Konkan! How lush it must look at this moment, in the midst of the monsoons!

  32. what are kasundi and nigella seeds?
    and we call a similar recipe made using other veggies like winter guard.. promptly sasam which means ‘Mustard seeds’ in literal sense..

    Kasundi is a paste made from soaked mustard seeds and some other spices.n Nigella is what is called ‘kalonji’ in Hindi.

  33. Hi Anita,

    I am a regular reader of your blog & do try out some of your recipes. It’s nice to see you review Bong Mom’s book. I like trying out different cuisines and yours & Sandeepa’s blogs are the ones i follow regularly. It would be great if i can get a copy of her first book so that i can try out the recipes even offline :)
    Keep posting your wonderful recipes & titbits of life.. really enjoy your blog.. cheers!!

    Thanks for writing in, Remya!

  34. Hi Anita,
    I love your blog- so many commonalities as I am also from Delhi, but grew up in Maharashtra (with a lot of time in Bombay) and moved to the US for grad school and stayed on.
    I also love Bong Mom’s blog- I used to live in New Jersey (like Bong Mom) and try to figure out where she buys her fish, since the Chinese markets definitely did not carry Bengali fish.. :) I even asked one of my colleagues who was a Bengali but born and brought up in New Jersey where his mother bought her fish :)
    Bong Mom’s kathi roll recipe has been such a hit in our family that it is a regular weekly dinner feature for my two year old twins…they call it “egg roll”..
    Thanks for the giveaway…I would love to win a copy (I think I am on a collecting of books by bloggers spree :))
    —Sonal

    Thanks for commenting, Sonal! Look forward to more notes from you!

    • Sonal, I get Bengali fish from Oak Tree but these days I stick to the local fish found in American and sometimes Chinese stores and make bengali style dishes with them too

  35. I love Okra made this way. Made it long back while I was in the US from Sunita’s blog, I think :) Was fantastic. I love that your drizzled mustard oil on the top :D I eat jhalmuDi every Sunday with A at 5 PM with lots of mustard oil. It’s our version of a date.

    Heard such wonderful things about the book :) Plus we eat Bengali food at least once in 2 weeks! This book’d add great value to A’s experimentation with Bengali cuisine!

    I have converted my Maharashtrian side of the family over to the magic of mustard oil completely!

  36. I am delurking to throw my name in for the giveaway. Anita, I have been visiting your blog for a couple of years now and immensely enjoyed your chhole recipe and a few others. It your style of writing though that keeps bringing me back.

    Bongmom’s blog is another blog where I go to often not just for the recipes, but her witty writing. It will be a treat to have a hardcopy of her recipes and anecdotes. Thanks for the giveaway; I would love to win a copy!

    I am so happy to hear from you, Aparna! Also happy that the chhole is a hit with you!

    I’ll be picking a winner soon!

  37. Hi Anita

    Yours was the first blog I ever read and I’ve been reading it since then – thanks to you, I’ve discovered a world of blogs on every subject, food and books being my favourites. Would love a copy of Bong Mom’s Cookbook as foodie memoirs are what I really enjoy reading as opposed to a straightforward cookbook.

    Hi, Medha – happy to find another loyal reader here!

  38. Wow! The book sounds as great as her blog! I love her writing and Bengali cuisine. It will be a great pleasure to win this book. Thanks for having an option for us U.S. readers!

  39. Hi Anita,
    I’ve been a silent reader of your blog since a couple of years. I stumbled upon your site searching for Punjabi Chole, came back for Rajma and stayed for the stories and all the other recipies :)
    I’d love to be entered in this giveaway. I’ve read Bong Mom’s blog for years and her writing reminds me of home and my grand mom back in India, who can’t cook anymore. I’d love a copy!

    Hi, Shruti! I am so glad you delurked to tell us about your fav posts on AMTP! I hope you will continue to find new favourites!

  40. Am a silent reader for year and an ardent follower of the Punjabi chole recipe. Love to win the book. I read Bong Mom and she reminds me of my home and summer vacations at my nani’s place

    Another chhole lover! Good to have you delurke, Sonal!

  41. Well, the BongMom’s Cookbook is always my favourite..but you too have a delicious blog here. I am looking forward to have some faboulous recipes here..Regarding the book, it will be as fine as BongMom’s blog. I earned lots of accolades in my in law’s house with her recipes and still I am known as good cook. Kudos to you food bloggers..we non-cooks are winning hearts with your help!! Love..
    P

    A winner to be announced soon!

  42. […] a copy of the Bong Mom’s Cookbook – there is a recipe for Khejur gur er payesh in there!  Leave a comment here to enter the […]

  43. I started reading Sandeepa’s blog and a world of ‘Bong Food’ opened up to me.
    Before that, Bengali food = Rosogulla and related sweets was an idea I was fixated with. imagine my surprise to find SUCH variety and with lovely anecdotes, her stories of her Grandma remind me SO much of my own.
    And her observation on the perfect food pictures (giggle) I know what you mean Sandeepa, I stand at the counter top and eat and at times frown and sigh when I hear the ‘Mummaaaaaaaaaa’
    For many more reasons than these, Bong Mom’s Cook Book will be a Treasure. For all of us, who read cook books like novels, and cook from it too, will want this book!

  44. Looks like a really nice book. My friend Ushnish Ghosh is also all praises for it. I would order my copy today.
    Interestingly, many eastern UP dishes have bengali elements too. I posted a mustard bhindi recently on my blog as well, that is a dry version though we used to have a curried version too.

  45. Came here from the khejur gur er payesh post, which looks lovely. But of course I had to comment here to be considered for the drawing.

  46. Why do I need the book? For all the recipes of course, and especially the desserts.:)

  47. I have been reading your blog for a few years now but never commented :) I love bong mom’s style of writing and Bengali food, so of course I want the book!

  48. I thought I had already commented but it looks like I dreamt that I did. Why do I want Sandeepa’s book? I love her humor and her enthusiasm for life. I admire the spirit with which she juggles all the various things in her life. I look forward to her smart irreverent comments on my inane posts so that I can try to say something smarter in response but, unfortunately, i just end up sounding ridiculous and unfunny. Besides all this, I want it for the recipes, traditional and adapted. Especially the adapted ones because she simplifies the method without compromising on the flavors. At least I think she does. My exposure to Bengali food is limited but one thing is for sure, Sandeepa’s recipes always taste pretty darned good. Must be all that mustard oil. :-D

    I had plans to make this Shorshe dharosh this weekend but the okra at the Indian grocers looked like it was on steroids. Huge, fat, pale green things that did not look inviting. But I’ll have you know that I have a teeny okra plant which might yield a few pods in the next few months and then this might be the best thing to make with them! I can’t wait! (Except if it’s like the last time I planted okra — 5 pods in all!)

    Yes, you have become a daydreamer. I have been meaning to bring up the missing comments issue!

    Come on now, stop fishing. You know how much we enjoy your ‘inane’ posts – wouldn’t have it any other way!

    We are all waiting – don’t keep us waiting for too long.

    • No, you don’t want this book. I will tell you why, but later. And I am not at all enthu about life, heck what do I write in that blog of mine that makes people think thus.

  49. This comment was for Manisha !!!

  50. […] have dithered on announcing the winners of the Bong Mom’s Cookbook Giveaway.  Let me delay no more.  All the comments, except Bong Mom’s responses,  53 in all, were […]

  51. […] market seems ripe for cookbooks; I see so many new ones coming out on a regular basis.  Since I reviewed Bong Mom’s Cookbook, I find a Harper Collins’ published cookbook in the mail every now and then.  Few of them […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

