mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Ginger Cookies

In Muffins and Cookies, Tea Party on September 21, 2006 at 7:00 pm

ginger cookies

I’m on a roll. I’ve had a great day today.

I also had a great Tuesday. My students excelled–way above expectations. Felt truly good and I wanted to show them. But then things got really rushed this morning and I almost didn’t make the cookies. I had wanted to make peanut butter cookies initially but it required freezing the dough and I definitely did not have that kind of time.

ginger

So it fell on these ginger cookies, that seemed a snap, to deliver. It also gave me an opportunity to use the ginger (and the pic!) I bought on the road-side at one of our many tea-stops during the recent trip. And who doesn’t like spicy ginger cookies? (Though, I must add, I prefer ginger snaps) And these are full of spices: pepper, cardamom, and cinnamon as well. Perfect with tea.

I shared it with my happy students today and they have promised to work even harder!

ginger cookies

Ginger Cookies
(adapted from Nic’s recipe for Spiced up Ginger Cookies)

1 1/4 C atta/whole wheat flour
1 C refined flour
2t baking soda (see note)
1/2t salt
1T ginger powder
1t cinnamon powder
1t black pepper powder
1/2t cardamom powder
3/4 C sugar (see note)
2/3C oil
1 egg
1/4 C gur (jaggery)
1/2 C grated fresh ginger
sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 350F (gas mark 6). Sift together the flours, salt, baking soda, and the powdered spices. To the gur (broken into bits) add a tablespoon of water and zap in the microwave for a min. Stir (zap again for a bit, if needed) so you have a thick syrup. In a bowl whisk together the sugar, oil, cooled gur, and the egg. Mix in the dry ingredients and the grated ginger. Pinch of balls and roll over fine or coarse sugar and bake for 7-8 min. Remove from sheet immediately and cool on a wire rack.

My tips:

  • You may reduce the sugar if you don’t like them too sweet. Or skip the sugar-rolling. I thought the ones rolled in fine sugar looked pretty. Granulated sugar added too much sugar-crunch.
  • I had a big problem removing my first batch–lots of crumbs. Remove the cookies from the baking sheet as soon as you take them out of the oven. Then let them cool.
  • I would also reduce the soda by 1/2t. I could taste it in the cookies. Or maybe my soda is very fresh.
  1. I love ginger in anything and everything! Nice cookies. I remembered the gingerbread I’d baked with loads of spices. We Indians do like to spice up the most mundane of stuff, don’t we…Me, I couldn’t drink a chai that isn’t spiked with ginger !

  2. Your recipe for ginger cookies seems to be very tempting. But I am a total vegetarian . Can I avoid Egg while making Ginger cookies ?

    There are recipes that don’t need eggs – you could check some of those. In this recipe you could try skipping the eggs – in which case you may need to increase the amount of butter/oil.

Leave a Reply

