mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

I is for…Innula

In Birds and Bees on January 13, 2007 at 8:11 pm

Innula

I… am going to be there for the Flower Fest…better late…

And I bring to you another wildflower from the Himalayas, the Innula, photographed on the much blogged trip to the Garhwal Himalayas and the Valley of Flowers.

Innulas are members of the daisy family and have both ray and disk-florets that are a beautiful bright yellow in colour. The one featured here, in all likelyhood, is the Innula grandiflora, that grows at 2000-3300m elevation. It flowers from July to September and is very common in North India, especially Kashmir. The plants are about 18-24″ tall, with terminal solitary golden-yellow flowers heads that may be up to 2 1/2″ across, borne on long leafy stems.

If you look carefully, you’ll see that butterflies find them very attractive!

Innula

Tags: Himalayan wildflowers, Innula, Flower Fest

  1. wow!Lovely flowers. They do look like desi daisies.
    Care to join a meme? U have been tagged.

  2. I knew you’d come through!

    I love the way the ray florets give it that almost wispy look. I wonder if these are found in the Rockies…

  3. Lovely! Is this a relative of Dandelion ?

  4. Shaheen: shall work on the meme surely, but it may take a little time…

    Manisha: I had promised! And had the pics all cropped and all, but this has been a very busy week for me. I couldn’t comment on your ‘wildflower’. While I like Irises, I really love the Indian Paintbrush in all its wild-ness. I have a bunch of slides that I took on one of my many hikes (near Denver of course!).

    Archana: It looks so, doesn’t it? But I don’t know if dandelions are also daisies.

  5. That is an absolutely beautiful flower! Very pretty.

  6. I agree with you! The Indian Paintbrush was a great find for me!

    Dandelions belong to the asteraceae family, which would make them a daisy? Did you ever eat dandelions when you were here, Anita? The leaves are delicious! A friend of mine has a yard which she is positive has seen no chemicals or pesticide for the last 25 years. She pulled out a truckload of dandelion greens, sautéed them in olive oil with some garlic and served them to us. They were slightly bitter and curiously like the leaves of white radish (reminded me of mulyachi bhaji). Yum! I got to eat most of it cos I enjoyed it the most!

    I’ve seen dandelion greens sold at Whole Foods, Wild Oats and even, believe it or not, Safeway on 28th and Iris in Boulder. I can’t believe the transformation that store has undergone! The produce is good and they have expanded their organic section to compete head-on with Whole Foods and now Wild Oats, which has a new store on 29th Street.

    BTW, I’ve updated the round-up for I with this beauty.

    Then they are both daisies alright. No, I’ve never had dandelion greens but did think about it every time I spotted the pretty weeds! I believe you are supposed to pick them before the plant blooms.

    But I’ve had nasturtium leaves from my garden. Did you know that they are edible as well? A nice peppery taste; good in salads, as are the flowers. They definitely perk up a crisp salad – flowers and leaves.

  7. I learned about nasturtium from Shilpa’s entry Indian Cress! For that mad tea party, we should have nasturtium salad, sautéed dandelion greens and wine from dandelion flowers! Um, and scones and cucumber sandwiches.😀

    …with a slice of Gugelhupf cake! Sounds like a plan!

  8. A pretty yet simple flower. When God was designing flowers to decorate Mother Earth this must hve been d easiest for Him!

  9. I love Inulas too! See my blog about “the Dr. Seuss flower! They remind me of Dr. Seuss, and I just finished my sculpture of the Lorax to put in the middle of my Inula bed.

  10. lovely pics.. u have a good stuff to read.i enjoy raeding them.

Leave a Reply

