mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Travel Tips Anyone??

In Travel on March 20, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Sometime back Kamla (of The Kamla Bhatt Show) asked me if I would like to write a post (or two?) for a Travel Blog she was planning. I immediately agreed thinking here’s my chance to travel to new places! That is not what she had in mind. I was to write about places I had already visited.😦

Being a Delhi girl🙂 through and through, I thought let me see how well I can cover up for a city I hate to love. Just kidding. The Heat and Dust can get to us sometimes. But never forget that we are steeped in history too…

I wrote it and forgot. Then I saw this new link today! Check out what to do If You Go To….Delhi!

If You Go To is all set to be your one-stop resource for travel tips to places all over the world – travel tips from the travelers themselves!

Upcoming post: Kashmiri Dessert #2!

  1. A very nice write up on Delhi, Anita. I have passed by Delhi many times to reach Garhwal and Kumaon areas but have not stopped to explore Delhi much. What a shame! However, I have taken the time to eat the food you mention in most places. D’Paul’s sounds like a must try.

    Thanks Shilpa. Next time you are passing by give me a holler and we’ll go together.🙂

  2. I read the article .You have written it well. It is the true picture of Delhi :)I have experienced all the modes of transportation here except Metro.
    I like to visit these places also Pragati Maidan which hosts the trade Fair ( I know it is very crowded but we go on a week day) and smaller exhibitions all the year round.
    Janpath market for the clothes footwear !!!
    Also the States Emporiums which are there near Connaught Place.
    But I prefer visiting Dilli Haat.Food wise I felt Dilli Haat is not upto the standard as it should be. Only the Maharashtra stall is ok. I am a veg so I can’t say about Nagaland and others.
    But I luv Delhi despite the many drawbacks it has🙂

    You’re right about the food at Dilli Haat. Only the Momos and the fruit beer are worth eating – baaki sab bakwaas!

  3. Great Dilli ki yatra. You have to be a bit thick skinned to last the heat and dust sometimes🙂. especially if you take Public Transport (as i used to when i attended College and University). I too am yet to experience Metro. I was there for about 7-8 years, but all i did was home-to-college and back, with occassional trips to Sarojini Nagar, Dilli Haat, South Ex.😉. Shame it is, but during my stay there i visited only a single Trade Fair, never been to India Gate and Lal Qila! I agree with Archana on the quality of food in Dilli Haat-nice place to hang out with friends though. and also the Emporia on Baba Kharak Singh Marg, CP. Never been to Bengai Market too and my only trips to Karol Bagh have been to friends’ homes!

    BTW, did i ever say that Gurjari is my all time favorite emporium-at one point 90% of my suits were made from Gurjari block print materials :)). I haven’t been to Gurjari in Delhi, only in Bangalore.

    Chaat, hmm🙂. I prefer Amritsar to Dilli😉. Especially for tikkis-i didn’t like the plain aloo-filled with sookhi daal mix kinda’ tikkis :)). But yeah, its good still. But your right on the money about Nirula’s ice-creams. I haven’t been to Paranthe-wali-gali, but have heard the same that their paranthas are deep-fried!

    Great post, am nostalgic!

    My return present for that : If you ever go to Bangalore, plz. go to Corner House-they make YUM stuff!Hi Anita🙂

    In college I too used to wear a lot of Gurjari stuff. But now, not so much. But I like Rajasthali prints a lot – just bought some fabric there last week.

    DTC is hard on you now – college days were fine (mine were some time ago🙂 ). Where did you go to college?
    And you haven’t been to India Gate?! That is one place you can get ice cream (from the carts) even at 2:00 in the morning!

    I had chaat in Amritsar a couple of months back – not great. I probably didn’t go to the right place. Will keep your tip in mind when I visit Bangalore.

  4. BTW, Corner House is an ice-cream joint-they have a few branches in Bangalore🙂.

  5. Offtopic but guess who finally started his own blog?

    I beat you to it!

  6. “Where did you go to college”

    Sri Venkateswara College or Venky as its popularly known🙂.

    I wanted to go to Rajasthali too-but was not sure where it was located in Bangalore😦

    and BTW D’Paul’s sounds exciting-cold coffe, hurrah to that!

    In which case, idli-dosas at Karnataka Sangh (Moti Bagh) surely?

  7. No way! You only think I did. As does the whole world! WordPress did a number on us. There was only 1 comment under each post when I posted. Bee’s and Indira’s. But you and Sailu had comments there above mine when I woke up this morning. Grrrrr!

    Whatever, girl!🙂

    V noticed Pel’s was highlighted different against his comment on the Delhi note at IYGT, and asked me ,”So Pel has his own blog now?” And I went, “He does?” All of you (not so sure!) got there earlier only because of the time difference.

  8. “Idli-dosas at Karnataka Sangam”: absolutely🙂

    Btw, THANKS-had to write this. Y’day i got this catch in the neck that hurts!! so, today i was thinking of something simple and quick for dinner and then i looked at ur Rave-idli post🙂. it just was the right thing🙂. Hadn’t had rave-idlis in a while, so today i made these fluffy clouds! Didn’t have khatta dahi (been lazy for a few days and have been using store ka dahi)-so used the store bought butter-milk and a pinch of baking soda, with rava mix to make the batter-kept it in a warm corner for 15-20 mins, and it gave me yummiest idlis🙂. with spicy coconut chutney and hot cuppa’ chai, it was heaven!

    My quick chutney recipe: In hot oil, pop mustard seeds and urad dal, add curry leaves and chopped onion and grated ginger-fry-add one chopped tomato and cook 4-5 mins. Cool and blend this together with a fistful of grated coconut, 1-2 green chillies, salt and a tsp. lemon/lime juice.

    It works! especially when you have no time to soak the daal🙂

    I used to time myself to Saturdays so I could get the Sat Special: Bisi Bele Bhat!
    Like I said: rava idli- instant gratification!

  9. if you go to kakke da dhabha or one of those joints in delhi, don’t ask them to put “less oil” on the parathas. they will be highly offended and respond, “we don’t use oil, only pure ghee”, and they’ll add an extra dollop just to prove it.

    Don’t go to Kake da Hotel. We were so disappointed last year.

    But I know what you mean with offending the old timers with “less oil.” Blasphemy.

  10. I had no painful catch in my neck nor did my body ache so I put a frozen pizza in the oven and we had that for dinner.😀

    Musical, you’re amazing.

    She’s amazing, and you’re lazy! Just kidding, OLO! You truly need the extra sleep though!

  11. He he Manisha, you know FOOD does that to me :))

  12. And we are supposed to be discussing my relevant post here!🙂

  13. ok, we’ll discuss you later, anita.😀
    do you guys know pel?

    Do we know Pel!!😉 Well, virtually.

  14. What post, Anita?

    Pel is an angel. Pel is my treasure trove. When I have questions but no answers, I ask Pel. Pel does not disappoint. And the topic is not necessarily food. Sometimes I think he is a figment of my imagination. But he’s real. Thank God!😀

  15. OMG………LM…..er…..[checks] nope..still there!

  16. “A very nice write up on Delhi, Anita. I have passed by Delhi many times to reach Garhwal and Kumaon areas but have not stopped to explore Delhi much. What a shame! However, I have taken the time to eat the food you mention in most places. D’Paul’s sounds like a must try.”

    General World Travel Information – Things you should do before you take that much needed vacation. Before you go and see the World.

    Find out where you’re going. Take the time to read up on where you’re going. Find out what has to be seen or the best restaurant to eat at. Knowing a bit before hand can help you pack and plan.

Leave a Reply

