mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Lentil Burgers and Flowers Wild

In Birds and Bees, Low Fat, Tea Party on June 2, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Lentil burger

It’s no secret that I love potatoes. Who doesn’t? And they make a swell burger too. But the veggie burgers my sister used to (have to) eat in the Union cafetaria were not made from potatoes alone. They had many grains and other indescribable things in it. I can’t describe them because I never ate those – there were perfectly good real burgers for me.

But in a family that is 50% vegetarian, real burgers pose a problem. Though the potato based vegetarian burgers I make are a perfectly tasty option that we all love, I was looking for a more meaty texture. After looking at Nandita’s burgers, I decided to finally give lentil burgers a try.

As happens on many evenings, I was changing dinner plans again. I already had red lentils soaking (not to make burgers), but black eyes peas sounded good too. I went ahead and soaked some of those as well. This was going to make a lot of burgers🙂 . So much for planning.

While mixing it all together I added a little bit of this, and a pinch of that. The result was a great looking burger that was much appreciated. Lentil burgers tend to be on the dry side though, so smothering with ketchup is quite okay. Which it is not if you are having a good beef or mutton burger.

Lentil burger
Lentil Burgers

1 C sabut masur chilka (whole un-skinned red lentils)
1 C lobhia (black eyed peas)
1 medium onion, chopped fine, practically minced
1 T ginger, grated
1 C chopped coriander
1 T green chillies, minced
1 ½ t Baharat (or ¾ t garam masala)
salt
to serve: burger buns, sliced tomatoes, cucumbers, and onions, chopped cabbages or lettuce leaves, pickles, ketchup, mustard, chutneys…

masur
cooked masur dal

Soak the lentils in water for an hour. Cook in the pressure cooker for 10 minutes with enough water to just cover them, or in a pan till tender. Drain any excess water. Turn out into a large mixing bowl or a paraat (a large deep platter, used for kneading daily dough), if you are doubling or tripling the recipe, like I was. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Shape into fat patties of desired size. Pan fry the patties using just a little oil, till browned on both sides.

Slice and toast sesame buns lightly (I used a ridged cast iron pan to toast mine), and place a burger between the sliced baps. Top with sliced tomatoes, cucumber, onions, and chopped cabbage or lettuce leaves, and condiments of your choice.

The spicing is up to you and open to experimentation. These might take well to the addition of some vegetables as well which could provide the much needed moisture.

The lone teen in the family didn’t like these much but then when you are that age it is natural to dislike anything that has a ‘healthy’ tag attached. So go ahead and make these and see for yourself. These would be great stuffed into pita pockets – excellent susbtitute for fried falafel, and topped with some crisp salad vegetables, and a yoghurt sauce. Or you could also serve them on their own, as a variation of the tikki, with a coriander or mint chutney. Which is what I did with the other half.

And you wouldn’t mind if I served it up with pictures of some more beautiful flowers as I very Slowly Sizzle into Summer with S for the Flower Fest? Flower Fest is the is the brainchild of Priya of From Nature to Me and Sree.

Shasta Daisy
Shrubby Daisy, Blue-eyed Daisy, better known as African Daisy (Osteospermum fruiticosum), is a drough tolerant, sun loving plant. In my winter garden.

Stonecrop
Stonecrop (Sedum ewersii), near Mana Village, Uttaranchal

Stonecrop species love to grow on stony slopes, around well-watered areas. This cluster was found near the Bheem Pul, a natural stone bridge carved by water and ice.

Stonecrop
Stonecrop (Sedum sp.), on way to Gangotri, Uttarkashi – nature’s Alpine rock-garden!

Tags: low fat, lentil burger, veggie burger, Flower Fest, wildflowers, Uttaranchal

  1. I’ve been eyeing Nandita’s burger for a while now too. With all fat I’ve been consuming lately, I’ll need to get back to grains and lentils soon.

    You don’t need to ‘go back’, just have them both for the perfect balance! You need something sweet to end a perfect meal😉

  2. Lentil burgers? Sounds like fun. But I think I might just end up making masoorichi amti instead!
    You just named one of my flowers for me. I knew it was a Daisy, just didn’t know the genus etc.
    You’re late for S, you know! I can be bribed to add your entries though. (Bee, are you reading this, too?)

    These are much more fun than amti, c’mon!

    And, thanks for updating the roundup. You are the nice girl after all😉 !!

  3. wholesome and tasty. i need to make/get some of this baharat spice mix.

    I have been meaning to post a recipe…but there are plenty available on the Web. It makes a nice change from garam masala.

  4. Looks like Naditha’s burgers are in heavy demand, I made them a while ago for a camping trip and they were amazing !!!
    Flowers are beautiful !!

    Thanks, Sreelu!

  5. Thanks to you and Nandita, I now have a recipe for a proper lentil burger. I think that I am going to add a little bit of mashed potatoes in mine also. Thank you very much. Have a good weekend!

    Yes, I think adding potatoes will make the patties hold together better – they tend to be a bit crumbly otherwise.

    The weekend was just too hot for anything really, yet I baked😉

  6. Lovely and nutritious snack. Viji

    And yummy!

  7. Looks perfectly yummy and I love the taste of whole masoor …next time I’ll do a mix of both! Thanks for trying and liking this! Your presentation says ‘pick me up’!

    It was an interesting idea, and I tried them soon after you posted. So, thanks for the idea, N!

  8. BTW the link isn’t working right I guess, leads to a page not found

    That took some trying – I don’t know what was going wrong repeatedly. But it is fixed now.

  9. Reminds me of the different cuisines in my neighbourhood.

    Some neighbourhood, that! Despite the concrete!
    😉

  10. Those look really good Anita! I made your other veg-burger recipe, still have a few in my freezer; they’re delicious, but very light-textured- much like a pea kokfta. I found myself thinking on similar lines: I’d like more to chew on! And lo…

    Some one hears you!! (God is a woman, but you knew that. She must be a good cook too.)

    But, Cynthia here, may be on to something. I think these were a bit too crumbly, so a little bit of potato can’t hurt! And I’m not saying that just because of my love for the spud😀

  11. Dem dere posies is nice too; I love sedums: interesting, subtle intricacies to look and contemplate upon; easy would be an understatement to desribe the difficulty in their level of care; they reproduce easily; the sheer variety of the genus’ many manifestaions is nothing short of amazing. Did you bring a trowel?

    Yes, the sheer diversity of the genus…

    No, no troweling…it probably wouldn’t have survived Delhi’s dry summer – it was 47 degrees Centigrade yesterday! Hot, hot!

  12. 47…and when do the monsoons arrive- August? I’d be out there, dancing in the rain! When it climbs over a dry 33 C, I begin to feel a bit warm…today, it’s a damp and cool 20 C here, but lately it’s mostly been 24-28, and humid! So, a bit refreshing…
    Potato starch does have some interesting properties: I am curious to know what potato or alu-matar ka halvah tastes like!

    The official date for the arrival of the Monsoons in Delhi is June 29..but it usually gets delayed by a few days. So now you can understand the fuss about only mad dogs and English men going out in the midday sun😀 ! It’s getting a bit humid here – RH in mid-forties…The monsoon hit the Kerala coast last week, on time!

    I have made potato halwa just once, a very long time ago – I would say it tastes like a smooth version of dal halwa…starch in a lot of ghee and sugar! But I stick with regular halwa – there are so many other better ways to use potatoes! People will even make garlic kheer and then exclaim that you can’t tell! Pray, why do all the peeling and smashing, if it is going to taste like any other kheer!

  13. Your burgers look yummy!!! And the flowers.. I love looking at the flower pics you take cos you take them really well, the colours are gorgeous!

  14. Garlic kheer…it would be sweet! Reminds me of the Turkish sweet pudding made of chicken breast…

    There are sweet, potato pancakes popular here. I think they’re Polish, as they are served at breakfast with kielbasa and saurkraut- though I believe this combo is in the German repetoire as well. But I’m with you; I’m quite fond of carrot cake and gajar ka halvah, though I am quite tempted to sample halvah made of bottle-gourd soon…

  15. These sound great and I love your various serving suggestions for them.

  16. I make a lentil burger that I really like but it has walnuts and the fat in it is very high as is the calories. this recipe looks very flavorful and much healthier then the one I make. I will have to try this one and soon.

  17. […] substitute for Kashmiri garam masala (I know – that recipe is also pending!). I use a pinch of this here and there, wherever I need a hint of spice and yet am reluctant to use my Punjabi garam masala. The […]

Leave a Reply

