mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Archive for July 25th, 2007|Daily archive page

Greek Cucumber Salad

In Dips and Spreads, Low Fat, on the side, Under 30 min!, Vegetables on July 25, 2007 at 11:12 pm

greek cucumber salad
This is my son’s favourite salad. And it is, perhaps, the oldest recipe in my repertoire. I read the recipe in National Geographic Kid’s, NatGeo’s magazine for children, when I was about 13 years old, and have been making it since.

Yes, it is very much like the Indian cucumber raita. But with a twist. This raita includes lime juice, which I had thought odd, since dahi is already a little tart. But am I glad my young mind didn’t decide to omit it! I have a rule of sorts – the first time around I try to stick to a recipe as much as possible, substituting only if an ingredient is unavailable.

Read the rest of this entry »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 459 other followers