mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Udon It?

In on the side, Vegetarian on November 19, 2007 at 11:28 pm

noodle 01

Here are my bundles…three bundles of organic udon noodles (Japanese wheat noodles)- perfect for the three of us. In case the fussy men in this house don’t like – more for me!

Like this clutter-free picture, I am now looking for a simple recipe for these noodles; I hope I can find one that will not involve a major restock of the pantry. From what I have reviewed, a trip to INA Market for some mirin seems inevitable. Do you have a favourite udon or soba recipe?

The first picture is my favourite of this lot, shot in my sunny kitchen in the late afternoon. I am much constrained by my very basic Kodak EasyShare CX 6330, but it has served me well…it takes a lot of coaxing on the macro mode to get it near where I would like it to focus😀 . This is my entry for Click: November 2007 (Noodles)!

I like this one too…

noodle 08

…and this one so I can show off my jug😉 .

noodle 05

  1. I’m glad you got to it!

    Nupur has a recipe for soup with udon noodles that I have been wanting to try. I also want to go eat at the Thai – Japanese restaurant again. They made a wonderfully simple udon noodle dish which I want to deconstruct. I love the texture of these noodles.

  2. Cool choice, Anita! i do have a cpl. of recipes that i make once in a while and like, but never blogged about them. Will try to dig them out from the bookmarks folder and send them over🙂.

  3. Love the pic and the jug too.
    You can make soup.

  4. This recipe will work for udon noodles too.

  5. Love that first pic! It would be great inspiration for an interior space.🙂

  6. But where’s the recipe?😉

  7. Imagine that! No recipe! And I didn’t even notice. Must be that beautiful jug / mug!

  8. Beautiful pics! And I love your jug🙂

  9. I had this dish of udon with sesame seeds and something else… but it was fabulous. Will try to see if its online. Loved the zen approach to the photo… I am on the same path myself🙂

  10. Lovely pictures!! My favorite soba recipe is ‘Otsu’ from Heidi Swanson’s collection. For copyright reasons, its taken off 101cookbooks.com but there are still some versions featured on blogs. Turned out delicious – light and summery. Not greasy or overloaded with sauce.

    Smita

  11. I’ve had some lovely stuff at The Monk in Gurgaon🙂

    your pics are beautiful… perfect for the 3 of you… like Papa Bear, Mama Bear and Baby Bear.

  12. lovely noodles🙂

  13. The pics look great, hope you get the recipe you are looking for- and then we get it too!

  14. a mixture of roasted garlic, kasuri methi, roasted dry chillies, salt is bathed very well in Olive oil.

    the drained udon noodles are mixed in the above mixture and eaten heartily for saturday brunch.

    a nutritious source of carbohydrate before a good run

  15. I landed here seeing your entry for the click event. Pic looks very good. Hope you win it. Good luck.

  16. Nice pics,good looking mug too. Soba noodles work best with simple and very light sauces. I love it tossed with sauted ginger paste and sesame seeds ( have that one up in my blog ).I bought a bottle of mirin when i picked up my first bundle of Soba and used it only a couple of times. Atleast for me, Soba tastes good even without the added mirin.

  17. Very nice pictures!

  18. Thanks, everyone! I am checking out the links and comparing the suggestions – and will certainly blog about what I finally conjure up.

  19. Your photos are lovely.

  20. Now that the results are out…I can tell you that I loved the lines in this photo. The reflection is also excellent. Very well done!

    Thanks, Manisha! Coming from you, this is a big deal! I loved it too!

  21. WOW! Lovely pics!
    Besties from me!
    😀

  22. Nice to see Udon. It is actually buck wheat noodles. The best kind come from Kagawa Prefecture in Japan. Even the Udon in Tokyo is not comparable. Thanks for telling me where I can buy some in India, I miss Udon! I could get you some Udon and Soba recipes if you like. I like Yakisoba.

    I did cook them without the mirin (which was Rs500 for a bottle!!)…made a good enough meal but not like my friend’s colourful spread. please share your fave recipe.
    Incidentally, my packet said Udon (Japanese wheat noodles)! Check that link; I was using the same brand.

  23. Anita, my packet of Udon says it has organic whole wheat flour and organic sifted whole wheat flour and organic sea salt. Soba noodles, on the other hand, have buckwheat flour. My packet says it contains organic whole wheat flour, organic buckwheat flour and organic sea salt.

    Same as mine…

Leave a Reply

