mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Riddle Me This!

In This and That on November 5, 2008 at 11:47 pm

Manisha, the same one who looked at my strange gourd pictures and rolled her eyes, “Not another quiz?!” has now decided to start her very own mother quiz circulating event  – Riddle Me This. I kind-of-sort-of figured out the answer to her quiz (Pel was ahead, of course) and had the baton passed on to me (and to Pel).

I thought hard, harder than I did to guess her quiz😉 .  I had a mystery ingredient sitting in the pantry, waiting… But there was a slight problem.  She insisted there was another rule – I needed to have the answer before I could ask the question!🙄 That took time. Wouldn’t it have been quicker to just quiz and let all you smart people out there tell me what it was?  Luckily, I knew just who to ask.

So, these are the edible seeds of…. ?

mystery

Yes, I assure you I know the name – which language would you like it in?😀

The winner of the quiz must then:

  1. find something stranger than strange and,
  2. post it on their blog within the next two weeks.
  3. The quiz remains open for at least 1 day and at the most 2 days.
  4. The person who guesses it correctly gets the torch and is the next host for Riddle Me This.
  5. If the person who guesses correctly is the previous host, then that person will get to pick someone to pass the buck to from all those who made a guess.
  6. And so on.
  7. Please use the fabulous logo, also designed by Manisha, and link back to the host who passed the baton on to you.
  8. Please do your best to keep this alive. Just think of how much fun it will be!

The clock is ticking… you have 48 hours starting now…

9 am, Nov 7: We have a winner! Anjali of Annaparabrahma gets to host RMT next!

Meera got it right as well!  Well done, Anjali and Meera! Thanks for participating, all of you!

Yes, it is Halim (Hindi), Aleeve (Marathi), Raktabeej (Sanskrit), Garden Cress (English)…. names in other languages

  1. [giggle] You SO did not know those were buckwheat berries!

    I know the answer. You *told* me. You still want me to guess?! [more giggles]

    What’s that? You didn’t tell me, and I answered correct, didn’t I? Really!

    [Where’s the duct tape when I need it? Zip.]

  2. Pumpkin? I am so bad at this!

  3. Nyoza/Chilgoza/Pine seeds?

  4. Alsi/Flax seeds

  5. mm..I so think of Flax seeds and more flax seeds. Another part of my mind says its Kollu ( is it called horsegram?) One of these is my guess🙂

  6. I have no idea what it is, but reading the comment , they all seems to hink flax seed, i was always curious to know what seed flax seed is now i know🙂

    They might all be wrong…
    😀

  7. Flax seeds have a shine…so these may not be flax seeds.Kollu or horsegram are rounder…so…:)

    You’re on the right track…🙂

  8. hmmm….
    hmmmmm….
    hmmmmmmm….

    still ?????

    i know it’s NOT a flax seed😉

    And you’re right!

  9. I think it is what we call in Marathi Halim seeds. The swell like sabja seeds. They are used in winter foods.

    That is the right answer! We have a winner!
    Anjali, get ready to host…

  10. hey, is this paddy/rice? i mean rice before the cover (husk?) is removed?

  11. I think they are Aleev which are used to make laddoos??
    I think I am wrong.

    You are right as well…
    I should have out it up long ago and I would have known what it was in that bottle in my pantry!😀

  12. is it red colored wheat…? Don’t know.:)
    Anyway Anita, I tried ur version of Sarson Ka Saag with Makki Roti. it’s super hit. Thank you.🙂
    Now I am going to try your Fried Rice soon.
    Sonu:)

  13. Wheat.

    Wrong!😀 But you knew that already!

  14. Pel, you are guessing again, my friend? You need to go meet your long lost friend, the WordPress dashboard, and make a similar post. Or did you forget? Hmm?

  15. Oh man! Will I need to start a blog now? I think I know what it is – alfa alfa seeds.

    What else can I do to continue with the tradition to make up for not having a blog yet (in case I win)?

  16. Please ignore my last post. It is not alfalfa because I just looked at my small supply and your picture looks different. However, I know I have seen these seeds before so I looked into my seed cabinet and I found it! I think.

    You may think I am crazy but, I do not know its name in English or Hindi :-{ In Farsi its called Shaheen. My grandfather gave these seeds to me this past summer to plant them for salad herbs. You see, in northern Iran there is a tradition of eating fresh fragrant herbs along with your meals. They often eat herbs like tarragon, basil, mint, chives and some local herbs that grow wild in the hills. This is one of those wild herbs that are either not well known around Iran or called by other names that I am not familiar with. The herb is kind of spicy, not hot – the leaves are tender and leave a tingling sensation on your tongue.

    I hope I am right because the seeds I have look just like the ones in your picture and I also kept some mustard seeds with them (as you have a few) to see the contrast. If I am not right then I hope to find consolation in knowing that the story of arriving at my hunch was at least interesting.

    Have a great day! I miss Delhi winters😦

    You are right this time, Sonia! Shahi (or perhaps Shaheen) in Farsi!
    I am thinking about growing them for salad.

  17. Yay! Congrats, Anjali! You have two weeks to come up with a pic of some strange stuff! You and Meera amaze me. As does Sonia. Wow! I had absolutely no clue!

    Pel? Tick tock tick tock.

  18. Garden cress?! Who’da thunk?! I’ve never….oh, wait…yes I have, but I planted them- so not something I have hanging about. But how I love cress (the herb)…makes good sandwiches. And soup.

    Would you happen to have a fly-swatter handy? I need to swat someone and their clock. Not flies; their nice so I just catch ’em and let ’em go outside.😉

  19. Oh! Congrats to the two winners!

  20. I knew I had seen them somewhere but just couldnt recollect it! I know it by what Meera calls them.
    Congrats to the winners!

  21. Yipee!!! I won ! But let me tell you a secret I was not quite sure so I went back to check my old post and yes I came back and posted the reply. So here is a recipe of what we Kolis do with garden cress

    http://annaparabrahma.blogspot.com/2007/12/methiche-ladu.html

    and yes its a strange ladu I must add that disclaimer.

    Thank you everyone for the wishes especially Anita & Manisha! {following the alphabetical order ;)} he hee..

    Hummm now the tough part is getting weirder…..am off on my treasure hunt~~~

  22. I didn’t know Aleev had more names like halim, raktabeej or shahi/n. I learn new things everyday. & here’s a little secret how I guessed it. I guessd them because these seeds have haunted me after my daughter was born. I don’t like these seeds at all!!:-D Aleev ladu are supposed to be good for new mothers. However I feel they bcome little slimy after being cooked/roasted for laddu… But that can be considered as a delicacy/acquired taste. Sanjeev Kapoors’ website calls it flax seeds ladu. but my mom recently told me that flax seeds are called alsi in Marathi & aleevs are different.

  23. Here, Pel! [hands Pel virtual fly swatter]

    The thing that counts time is still … you know… couting time.

  24. My thing needs winding.😀

  25. Get with the times, Pel. Go digital. Of course, I had a whole bunch of other things to say but … 😀

    Anjali, I tried one more time to guess.

  26. Yes, Manisha, I know…but the power went out.😀

  27. No wonder you are stuck in the dark.

  28. My cats help me through.

  29. How long do you think we have? Before she posts again to bury our conversation. Yet again.

    [Not very long, I’m afraid.]

  30. Oooooooh! She dun found sumthin’! I’d bet on another day or so.

  31. excellent ! i lov cooking.

    Excellent!

  32. Guess what?! we make Aleevache ladoo quiet some and I googled the word y’day to know what it is called in other languages and it threw up this post. Well researched post I shld say.

    These are a must in a new mothers diet. My mom gave it to me in a kheer form for 3 days and a month or so after the delivery as a ladoo. It is supposed to tighten your lower back which takes a huge beating thru the delivery process.

    I will post recipe on my blog.

Leave a Reply

