mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Archive for February 10th, 2010|Daily archive page

Potato chips anyone?

In on the side, Potatoes, Under 30 min!, Vegetarian on February 10, 2010 at 11:52 am

potato chips

Winter seemed almost over.  The sun was out from behind the fog and days were back to being like they are in Delhi – bright and shiny.  There were signs of spring and I was determined to turn over a new leaf.

You have to make the most of spring in my neck of the woods; you blink and you might have missed an entire season.  Not so fast.  We are back to gloomy overcast days; with added rain, for good measure.  Which is all fine; who needs summer along before spring has had a chance.  Just that I decided to put the sunshine to good use and make a batch of home-style potato chips which are an essential ingredient in my chiwda.  Long story short – Lord Indra got a whiff, took a peek, decided to stay.  I thought I would get around him and make sure I had chips that stayed white as if they had received their two days in the bright sun.  Yup, the sun does different things for different people – some it bleaches, others it tans.  Determined to save my chips from browning I heated the oven, turned it down all the way to barely warm, set my cellphone alarm for 10 minutes, and went up to the office with my cup of tea. One hour later…
…toast!

potato chips
Yes, these are from last year’s batch! :-)

Well anyway, it was good weather for potato soup, which is what we ate for dinner last night. Read the rest of this entry »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 459 other followers