mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

A Sense of Loss

In This and That on May 10, 2011 at 10:30 am

Light house

It really is true; the good die young.  My dearest friend of 30 years is gone. Words are inadequate to express the sadness I feel.  She was my companion all through five years of college.  Together, we did many things for the first time.  She was a beautiful person.  I can hardly believe I am using the past tense when talking of her.

All I want to do is talk about her.  Or, listen to others talk about her.  She is an inspiration to all who knew her.  I was fortunate to have her in my life.  The other day we met for lunch and talked about our children; they are both almost 20.  We were so proud of the good job we had done.   At the time I had little idea how much of a good Mom she truly was.

Happy Mothers’ Day to all the Moms – you are the best!

Find my friend, Pratibha, mentioned here: A Delhi Summer, Appams with avial, Palak-Panir, and moongre ki sabzi.  She was an irregular reader of this blog but did leave a comment once.  Prati, you are missed so much.  Family birthdays and special occasions will never be the same.

  1. Dear Anita, Am so sorry for your loss. with best wishes and hugs…Arundati

  2. Hello Anita, so sorry about your loss, take care.

  3. ohhh..this is so heart wrenching to hear your loss , and the loss and shock the family must be dealing with. My prayers for all of you.
    I know first hand how a death can affect us , but what i learnt in the last one year is that the knowledge of death brings more consciousness towards life…sooner or later.
    Take care.

  4. That picture of the light house and the birds on the beach generates very good vibes for me …even with such a sad news.

  5. Anita, I’m so sorry for your loss. Friends are the family we choose- I was heartbroken to read this post.

  6. Anita, so sad to hear the news and very sorry for your loss.

  7. Anita –
    Best friends leave footprints in the sands of time and many many memories. I know nothing anyone says or does will remove all your pain but I sure do hope that a few words of each of us here will help you atleast a bit …

    In prayer,
    Vindya

  8. So sorry for your loss! Really sad news!

  9. Sorry to hear the news, Anita!

  10. Anita I have been through similar grief with the loss of a dear friend. So I guess I know how you feel.Only time will heal.

  11. very sorry to hear about your loss – death leaves a heartache no once can heal but like Tom Stoppard says – Every exit is an entry somewhere- hoping u & ur friend’s family find strength and encouragement to treasure the lovely memories !

  12. Dear Anita,

    I am very sorry to hear of your loss. I can understand what you mean about wanting to just talk or hear about her…

  13. so sorry for your loss, Anita!! Much love and hugs to you!

  14. I feel your hurt and your pain. I do. Much love to you, always.

    I am glad to have *you* in my life.

  15. I’m so sorry for your loss Anita.

  16. Very sorry about your loss. Your wonderful memories of her will sustain you.

  17. Thank you, for your comforting words. Last week we got together to remember her; we listened to some of her favourite music and ate home-cooked Mediterranean food, her fave cuisine. And looked at her pictures…

  18. Am so sorry to hear about this, Anita. As cliched as it sounds, time does reduce the pain and she will always live in your memories.
    Take care.

  19. I’m still stunned… Somehow, I was always thinking in my head that I would be able to meet her one day.

    Although I never did, I know well how important she was to you, and I want you to know that my thoughts are with you, and all the people whose lives she has touched.

  20. I’m so sorry, Anita. I hope Pratibha’s soul rests in peace. Take care. *huug*

  21. I am so sorry for your loss. I know how tough death of a loved one can be. May she live in ur memories for ever.

  22. Words are inadequate under the circumstances, what can I say…take care…

  23. It is heartwarming to read about your friend and what she means to you. Although, I don’t know you (outside of your blog), I got a glimpse of something real and wonderful. Don’t know what to say! Just that yo were fortunate to encounter one of those irreplaceable people who sort of exist to teach the rest of us how to behave on this planet. Thanks again for the little nuggets of unintentional wisdom and sanity. Your blog is a gem and so are you.

    Thanks, Jo, for your comforting words. A couple of weeks ago some of us got together to listen to some of her favourite music and share her favourite foods…It was sad yet good.

  24. My condolences with you.

  25. […] has been a mixed bag this year; from the very bad to very good.  All years are like that but losing a dear friend earlier this year was a dip that is really low.  Even winning Third Place in a National […]

Leave a Reply

