mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

The Fruits of Summer

In Desserts, Low Fat, Vegetarian on June 20, 2012 at 11:33 am

Hell couldn’t be hotter than Delhi in June.  This summer seems to be particularly hot.  Many of my less heat-hardy plants have just dessicated.  Even the Temple Tree is showing signs of heat stress!  I can only pray the monsoon will keep its date with Delhi; if all stays well with the wind systems, it should hit Delhi on June 29.

Mango Lychee dessert

The week has started off well with a sharp shower on Monday morning that brought a seven degree drop in the day temperature, from a scorching 44 degrees Celsius the previous day to a ‘balmy’ 37.  We take our silver linings as they come.  Monday was also my birthday and I was supposed to hit the streets, albeit those of the air-conditioned neighbourhood mall, with my sister, mom, and niecelet, who herself turned all of six years last week.  No, I wasn’t planning to shop till I dropped; it was Mom who needed company to shop.  We spent a pleasant couple of hours telling her what to splurge on.  Nothing beats shopping therapy when it is not even your own money.

We had had the festivities a day early.  I had said “no” to a birthday party unless someone else volunteered to cook.  My Mom did but I didn’t really want to have her spend time in the kitchen on my account.  The son hasn’t been home this summer so we didn’t get to party on his birthday either.  The heat not withstanding, you cannot go through summer without a party in a house full of Geminis.  So, it was decided, that I will cook on Sunday, the day before I turned the number when you may be considered well and truly into your late 40s.  The menu was pretty much the same as here.

I wanted to try something new for dessert, something that would be light and refreshing.  After debating between panna cotta, which would need cream, and fresh fruit with custard, I decided to go with a fresh fruit salad with a twist.  I came across this recipe that used mango and lychee, both in abundance right now, and combined it with sabudana in a way that I had never used this fasting-food before.  The use of a lime-ginger-based syrup made for a palette cleanser of a dessert – just the perfect way to end a meal in this hot-hot summer.  There was just enough leftover for me to make a breakfast of it the next day.  Dessert for breakfast on your birthday – isn’t that a great way to start another year of your life?

Another high point this week is that the author of A Mad Tea Party is being featured on BlogAddaThe interview  goes live tomorrow!

Mango Lychee dessert

Mango and Lychee with Sabudana

serves 12-15

1 1/3 C (250gm) sabudana (tapioca pearls)
2/3 C sugar
1 C water
Juice and rind of 1 lime
2″ piece ginger, sliced thin
1/4 t salt
4-5 mangoes, cubed
1kg fresh lychees, peeled, stoned and torn into pieces

Boil 8 cups water and add sabudana. Simmer for 10-12 minutes. Remove from heat. Keep covered for 45min. Drain and rinse well in cold water.  The pearls should be cooked through and will look translucent.  If you still see some white, zap them in the microwave for a couple of minutes.  Next time, I will soak sabudana before cooking like I do for making sabudana khichdi.
Heat sugar and one cup of water. Bring to boil and add the lime rind and sliced ginger. Simmer 10 minutes. Let stand another 10 minutes before straining the syrup into a mixing bowl. Once the syrup has cooled add lime juice to it. Add prepared fruit and cooked sabudana to the bowl. Mix well and chill for at least an hour before serving.

  1. Belated Happy Birthday.

    Thanks, Dr Kumar!

  2. A very happy birthday and many more to come. It’s freezing where I am but the fruit salad still looks vibrant and delicious. But must wait for mango season….

    Thanks for the wishes, Nima!
    Well, it will be summer where you are soon enough and then you will wish it would freeze! I wish it could be a little less hot. The monsoon should be here in another couple of weeks.

  3. Wishing you a happy birthday! If the iced teas taste good with sabundana this salad should too.

    Thanks, Anjali!
    The fruit salad is an interesting mix of textures. Besides, cooked sabudana exactly matches the lychees in colour!

  4. “..the son didnt turn up this summer either..”😛 smiles for that, there is a saying we go round the world just to come back home!.
    ..well food looks really delicious, and it would be amazing to have it in the summer heat….what is it with going live? will you be featured on tv? what time? which channel? ( i checked blogadda, no info on that)
    ..

    I know what you mean. There is still a chance he might come for a couple of weeks just before the next term starts.
    BlogAdda has an interview with me that will be published this week. Will update the link as soon as they do.

  5. Happppy Birthday! Glad to see a post from you after long.
    🙂 Thanks, ET.
    😯 What, I have been posting regularly – once a month!

  6. Congratulations on the BlogAda interview; I loved your idea of sabudana as a garnish’ it reminds of the coriander seeds in falooda. Ginger Syrup works with melons too.

    Thanks!

  7. Forgot the Happy Birthday part !🙂 We have a lot of May-June’s too!

    Thanks again!

  8. Happy Birthday from Canada
    Very hot here as well
    Recipe sound great
    Thanks
    Diane\

  9. Happy Birthday Anitha. Your Sabudana cooking is similar to making sabudanyachi kheer, I guess it didn’t become starch as you kept it thin and added more fruits to it. Worth a try though thanks for sharing

  10. Happy Birthday. Looks great.

  11. Hey Anita! Happy Birthday! Here from your interview over at BlogAdda. Lovely blog! I am planning to make that recipe. I didn’t know sabudana was tapioca pearls!😀 Great “meeting” you!

  12. Birthday wishes again! And that BlogAdda interview was smashingly amazing! ;-D

    Ms M is a fan of tapioca pudding so she’s bound to like this. While I like the idea of sabudana caviar, I think I might want to keep this just at mango and lychee. We get fresh lychees in summer and while they aren’t as plump and sweet as their Indian cousins, they are better than nothing. The closest I can get to desi mangoes is Ataulfo, which also I get now. Yikes. I think I might be saying I will surely try this and such a nice click, dear!

  13. Happy Birthday! Read your interview in Blogadda! Loved it! Dil mange more in the Mad tea Party!

  14. Belated Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

