mostly about food and cooking, but also the stories about the Bread and the Butterflies!

Fennel Frond Salt

In From the Garden, on the side on February 12, 2015 at 4:51 pm

fennel salt 10

The last few weeks I haven’t put much work into the few pots on my terrace that qualify as my urban terrace garden.  Yet, it rewards me so!  I had just thrown some fennel seeds from the spice jar into a grow-bag and they all sprouted into a small jungle of sorts.  I knew I needed to thin it but was loathe to throw the thinning away.  For the time being they looked pretty enough in a bouquet combined with the white and yellow flowers of the blooming brassicas.

fennel 01

Last week I chanced upon this simple recipe for preserving them indefinitely!  All of us dry and store mint but some herbs, like coriander or even parsley, are delicate and seem to lose their fragrance once dried.  Fennel seemed a stronger herb but I wanted to be sure it would hold up to drying.

After salivating on A&N’s spinach ravioli, I am also looking forward to cooking up a simple pasta with some fennel pesto as soon as I can decide what to use in place of pine nuts.

The next time you buy expensive fennel bulb for some fancy cooking, save the fronds as well.  You can use them to replace dill in this recipe, in tomato soup, or to make this fennel salt.  The recipe couldn’t be simpler.

fennel salt 08

Fennel-frond Salt
Adapted from this recipe at Local Kitchen


Fennel fronds, rinse and blot dry, remove thick stalks
Zest of a lime or lemon
Salt (adjust quantity to taste, less salt for a more intense fennel flavour): a mix of fine and coarse.*

Preheat oven at max temperature for 5 minutes. Spread the prepared fennel fronds and the lime zest in a baking tray. Turn oven off and put the tray with the fennel fronds inside the oven. Leave to dry. Check after 15 minutes. If the fronds are not crumbly-dry, repeat the process.

fennel salt 04

Crush the dried fronds and lime zest in a pestle and mortar with a little bit of the fine salt. Adjust amount by feel and appearance. Add the coarse salt towards the end so that you retain most of the texture.

Use the salt as a rub for meats, chicken, or fish, or to make spicy Bloody Mary!

* You should be able to find Indian rock salt/sendha namak at your neighbourhood grocer. I used coarsely ground sea salt from natural salt mines of Rajasthan.

This is the season for preserving the winter bounty in all sorts of ways.  In the last few weeks I have done a lot of that: made many kinds of pickles (I’ve lost count!), frozen cauliflower and peas for later use, made potato chips, and now this fennel-frond salt that is looking so pretty in the little glass bottles!

You can dry methi leaves in the oven the same way – they are great to lift up any curry, especially chicken curries, and are the only way to make methi pooris in summer! You can also dry methi in the microwave; my youngest sister, Sumedha, showed me how. Wash and pat dry methi (fenugreek greens). Air dry it for a day (optional step). Spread it on a microwave-safe plate and microwave on 60% power, first for 3 minutes, and then again for another 3-4 minutes or till you have leaves that crumble on crushing. Crush with a light hand and store for later use. See my big jar behind the fennel salt bottles!

fennel salt 09

  1. Does fennel grow easily? What is a grow-bag?

    All I did was put the seeds in the pot! For us the harvest season is ending, but from what I know, it is growing season in Bangalore year round!

    You will need sunny conditions. If you don’t have a sunny balcony, try the rooftop terrace!

  2. ooh this fennel salt sounds interesting and flavourful!

    It is! And ready with less than 5 minutes of work!
    [What’s with that e-mail address?! Seems to have worked – you were able to comment finally!😉

  3. This is super cool! Going to make it right away.

    It’s quite good, Poornima. I’ve been putting it on everything the last couple of days – on my eggs, on grilled kalari cheese, in the salad dressing!

  4. Wow!! Anita,This is new and looks so pretty. I have never heard of Fennel salt before…must try it sometimes.

    One of those quick recipes that pleases!

  5. This is a great idea! I love the fact how you wrap up the winter each year in your pickle bottles and other preserves in spite of being very busy at work… Your blogs reminds those days with mother when she would plan her pickle making activities🙂

    Even though I have reduced the amount I make of each of these pickles, it gives me so much satisfaction “to wrap up the winter in my pickle bottles,” as you so beautifully put it! It’s like recording the passing of time/seasons, a small bottle at a time!

  6. Walnuts make a good substitute for pine nuts in pesto – Pine nuts are really expensive so I usually just use walnuts (we grow a lot of basil in summer)

    Yes, a relatively cheaper substitute! That’s what I’ll do. I should also re-stock the tiny nutty-seeds from Uttarakhand (Bhangeera! – perilla seeds) that I use in my mint chutney – they taste like walnuts!

  7. lovely bottles too. love your blog

    Recycled bottles! 🙂

  8. Love the idea of drying herbs in the microwave. Do you think it might work with oregano and rosemary ?

    Suganya

    Try with a small bit, doesn’t work with all herbs. Fennel fronds can’t be dehydrated in the microwave oven – they just light up! Really!

  9. I have been a frequent visitor but have never left a comment before. The fennel fronds and lal mirch ka achaar have prompted me to do exactly that! I often see the former at the organic market (DOFM), but never been quite sure what to do with them. If they still have it, I must try it now. Ah and the bouquet of fennel fronds–how lovely and simple. I hate putting those somewhat plastic-y looking flowers in the vase anyway.

    Thanks for de-lurking, elephantinthestudy! Good to hear from you and also to discover your wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

