Refrigerator Pickles

Mooli and beet Pickle 02

Fibre, over at 28 cooks, wrote about vegetable pickles. I bookmarked it and then let it slide (going back to drool on the picture now and then). And then Tea at Tea and Cookies wrote about her version of radish pickles and I thought I absolutely must make these. And then she posted about them again. What was I to do?

You may have had all kinds of pickles (and there is no limit to the variety in Indian pickles!) but, as far as I know, these are the best looking pickles. Ever. One look and you will not be able to keep yourselves from making them for very long.

Even that blog-her friend of mine who is on a diet plan 🙂 . This is no oil-based Indian pickle, but more like a salad just waiting in a jar.

I looked at the other links from the above blogs and then tweaked the basic recipe to suit the ingredients I had at hand. Without further ado, let me get to the recipe. The pictures sell the pickle! It sits in my fridge like a glowing ruby, getting deeper every day.

Mooli and Beet Pickle

Mooli and beet Pickle 01

2 beetroots
1 mooli (diakon radish)
3 carrots
2 red onions
4 green chillies
1”x1” piece ginger
1 small bulb of garlic
2 ½ C white vinegar
1 ½ C water
1 T salt
1 T Celery salt
3 T sugar
2 t white mustard
2 t black mustard (or rai)
1 T black peppercorns
3-4 jars (I had enough prepared vegetables to fill three 18oz. jars)

Trim beets, and cook in boiling water for 3 min. Cool, peel, quarter and slice them. Trim and slice mooli (or red radishes). Slice onions into half-moons. Peel, slice, and julienne ginger. Peel and slice garlic cloves. Peel and cut carrots into 1-2” lengths and quarter. Pack the vegetables, including the green chillies, into clean jars.

Combine the vinegar and water in a non-reactive pan. Add the salts, sugar and the spices and boil for 4 min. Pour the hot liquid into the jars and watch the magic! Cool, cap and refrigerate for at least 10 days before tasting (this is the hardest part of this pickle-making exercise).

I look at them sitting in the fridge, and taste (just one slice) everyday, waiting for the 10 days to be over. The flavour improves every day.

These seem very versatile and I would think you could virtually add any kind of vegetable. Adjust the salt-sugar ratio to your liking. The spices too could be altered to make them more Indian (or not). I like them the way they are – a glorious deep pink, and crunchy, tart and mildly spicy. You may keep adding vegetables to the jar, adjust the salt and sugar, and make it go further.

Let me see how long you can stay without making a batch. Here’s to guilt-free temptation…

Mooli and beet Pickle 03

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

19 thoughts on “Refrigerator Pickles”

  1. Oh man! They sound so easy. I made eggplant pickles recently. We were enjoying it until recently. ‘Someone’ left the jar out for a few days when we went away and the pickle went bad. It was a day of mourning in our house. This recipe is perfect to use all the winter root veggies. I once had turnip pickle from an Arab store and they were just great. Nice pink hue.

  2. Oh those look just gorgeous…I had bookmarked Tea’s recipe too but unlike you I am still sitting on it 😀
    They must taste a bit like kimchi? Am I right? But that garlic must outstanding with the vinegar.

  3. N: C’mon, what cooking – there is no cooking involved, I promise! 🙂
    Krithika: Yup. Drop-down-dead good-looking!
    Giniann: They are easy. And, tell us about your egg-plant pickles…
    Lakshmi: I would love to share too. In fact, I took a bottle to a friend’s dinner and lapped up all the oohs and ahhas…Make a quick batch till I send some over!
    Nabeela: I know. Every time I open the fridge, I can’t help but smile and glow (halo?)
    Ashwini: Never had kimchi – just looked at it. My guess is kimchi is really spicy hot – these are kind of mild. Don’t wait no more! “Kaal karey so aaj kar”
    🙂

  4. Anita,
    One would make these pickles for the mere aesthetics of it… Awesome color.. I have always loved beets for the deep color they impart.

    Cheers,
    Mythili

  5. I think I am coming here first time….The pickle looks beautiful. I have never tasted beet pickle. I am going to try this over the weekend. Thanks

    Hi Shilpa. Welcome. I am a regular at yours!

  6. Hi Anita,
    Awesome photo! tried out ur rava idly yesterday and they turned out so wel (hav posted the pic. of it in my blog).. thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Hi. Welcome to the blog-world. Saw the picture perfect idlis! Looking forward to more recipes at your blog.

  7. I am so pleased you made these pickles! Aren’t they gorgeous to look at? Your modifications look interesting–I might have to try a batch in your style, I am sure the spices are delicious.
    Gosh, I love pickles.
    I’ve been planning to make your adai recipe soon (just need to gather all the ingredients).

    After looking at your ruby-red jars who can resist! And then you made more! They disappear fast!
    Adai is just one of the many dosai, traditionally served at breakfast down South (India), that makes a truly delicious and nutritious vegetarian meal. And all the ingredients are common place, except the curry leaves (don’t skip them!).

  8. Made this pickle – (salted) with fresh red hot chilli peppers and Madras onions. Now the wait for 10 days:)

    Ah. the hard part! I now have 7 jars in my fridge – one just with those large chilli peppers – red and green! Perhaps you will post about yours? A picture or two? 🙂

  9. Forgot to take pictures, good u reminded me, anyway they will stay put in the fridge for over aweek and these chillies are the firiest i have seen. The only way they can be eaten is with curd rice.

  10. I made these the other day: fabulous! I didn’t know until I checked the mother recipes that this is your own creation, made by crossing the recipes and tweaking the result a bit! Wow…

  11. Hello Anita di,
    We tested the pickle and from that day I was eagar to make it.Colour and taste really tempting!

    Are you going to make some? I think Chanru has…

Leave a comment