Back from the Garhwal Himalayas with a quiz

Okay, I’m back. But that was not a trip designed for 40+ city dwellers with sedentary jobs! Will give you details after full recovery. Just kidding. It was a swell trip. The mountains are always beautiful and the Garhwal Himalayas wear their beatious cloak of green with such grace.

Food was, sadly, not the high point of the trip but I managed to put on a couple of pounds anyway. Garhwali cuisine, like many a cuisine of the world, is not for public consumption yet. One of the hotels we stayed at I was able to convince the staff that we had had enough of the dal makhni-matar paneer-kadhai paneer-jeera aloo routine and would really love some homey stuff of veges that were obviously plentiful. And he obliged with a simple dish of (home cooked!) bottle gourd, some dal and, on his own initiative, added a delicious dish of stir fried rai (mustard greens).

Now to the quiz: Can you guess what ‘fruit’ is in the following picture?

RH

RH
While I will not be able to supply any recipes for Garhwali dishes, you may take the opportunity to drool over these pictures…a feast for the eyes.

On way
on way to Joshimath

Tea Break
ginger tea at Joshimath

Ghangria
puff, puff..from Govind Ghat to Ghangri

vf.JPG
in the Valley of Flowers

flwers-04.JPG

flwers-03.JPG

flwers-02.JPG

caterpillar.JPG

flwers-07.JPG

flwers-01.JPG

 

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

13 thoughts on “Back from the Garhwal Himalayas with a quiz”

  1. Hi Anita,
    That seems to have been a wonderful trip. The photos are beautiful. I loved the caterpillar and the blue flowers the best. Are the fruits FIGS ..??

  2. hi.what lovely pics!welcome back Anita.Valley of flowers is at the top of my list of’Places to visit’!i too think it looks like Rose Hips…though i haven’t seen one anywhere else!

  3. okay…so Julie and Madhuli are the winners!! These are indeed rose hips. They come in many shapes and sizes, from orange to red to purple red, and from these rounded ones to elongated chili-like shapes. We have lost the vivid colour of the wild roses while developing hybrids that are more brilliant and profuse in their petal display. Surely a loss!

    Watch this space for a recipe using rose hips…and i was able to collect a bunch from wild shrubs near Mana, the last village on the Indian border (in the Garhwal region).

    Thankyou all for playing along.

  4. Hey Anita,
    That was a nice game…I have never heard of Rose Hips..!! Waiting for the recipes 🙂
    I have tagged you with a meme, have a look at it on my blog and play along if you enjoy it 🙂

  5. Your pictures are beautiful, Anita! I wonder if you might consider sharing your pictures of flowers with us in the Flower Fest. I hope so!

    Hi Manisha.  Welcome to a Mad Tea Party.  I would love to participate–as soon as I can figure out ‘how to add tags’ and also thenames for some of the flowers!

  6. Don’t worry about tags, I can help you out with those. I’ve been borrowing books from the library as well as looking on the net for names of the flowers, wild and otherwise, that I take pictures of when we go on hikes or walks in the neighborhood. It’s been one super experience! I do hope you participate!

  7. hi dear,

    i have visited garwal several times as mine is an intercaste marriage… my hubby is garhwali… i too got a chance to visit mana village… its a beautiful place.. trully a heaven on earth

Leave a comment