All the Goodness of Eggs

Eggs 01

I have never been into fad diets. Nor do I reposit my faith in pretend foods. Why would anyone eat I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter when you can have the real thing which is Butter. But when I was younger I did attempt ‘altering’ my diet occasionally.

To find an alternative to tasty butter-toast, I would quick-cook a bunch of ‘green’ things – onions, tomatoes, sweet peppers, sometimes mushrooms, lots of coriander, some mint and green chillies – season it with salt and pepper and serve it on toast. A delicious alternative you will agree.

I still do it sometimes for TH who skips the butter on his toast. Last weekend I got into that mood again. We’d had too much bread that week and I was feeling a little guilty about all that maida and butter. I had a packet of fresh mushrooms and decided to cook my medley for breakfast.

While it was cooking I had an inspired idea – I removed some of the mix for TH who does not eat eggs, and then went ahead an added an egg to the vegetables still in the pan. What a perfect breakfast it was – a ‘poached’ (almost) egg on a bed of herby fresh veges. It was crying for toast so I gave in and toasted a slice and used it to break into the creamy ‘sauce’ of the yolk.

I am glad I do not have cholestrol problems. I could never eat an egg and not eat the yolk – I could leave out the white, if you like. The yolk is the point of the egg, don’t you think? Whether boiled, poached, fried or made into an omlette, the egg is not an egg till it’s got its yolk! As a kid when having egg-curry, I used to happily exchange my whites for the yolks with my sister. I still feel the same way about them yolks.

In this version of kitchen-sink eggs, the yolk is a beautiful surprise. As the white cooks in the steam it hides the gooey yolk inside. You gently break it, dip the toast, pile on a bit of the veges, and…deep satisfaction. If you feel the way I do about the yellow part.

Leave out the toast and you have a low fat, zero-carb, quick dish to satisfy your soul. Cholestrol be damned. Moderation, not fat-free butter, is my motto.

Eggs with Vegetable Medley
(Sorry, not very creative at all. All the creativity is in the dish)
Eggs 02
1 t olive oil
2 C sliced mushrooms
1 bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, smashed
2 spring onions, sliced
2 tomatoes, chopped
1 green chilli, chopped very fine
1/2 C chopped cilantro/coriander
1/4 C chopped mint
Italian seasoning (or a mix of oregano and basil)
1-2 T grated cheese (Gouda or Swiss, or even good-old Amul Processed Cheese)
salt and fresh ground black pepper
1-2 eggs

Heat oil in your (ahem) cast iron pan. Don’t let it get smokin’ hot though. Throw in the smashed garlic and then the onions and stir for a min. Toss in the spring onions, bell pepper, and the mushrooms. Cook for a few minutes, stirring all the time. Add the tomatoes, the green chilli, and the herbs. Stir some more. (If you are not going to add the eggs, season the medley, sprinkle with the grated cheese and serve.)

Make a small hollow in the center of the vegetables, taking care to leave a thin layer of vegetables in the hollow. Break the egg(s) into this hollow, cover the pan, and turn the heat as low as possible. Let cook for 2-3 min till the whites are cooked. Sprinkle with additional salt and pepper, and some coriander. You may serve from the pan or gently remove to a plate. The vegetable layer keeps the eggs from sticking to the bottom and you need no additional oil!

I think this deserves to be at the Weekend Herb Blogging event, started by herb-love

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

14 thoughts on “All the Goodness of Eggs”

  1. Hear hear..moderation and portion control 🙂
    You should try frittatas…Italian omelets baked with every vege you can find in your crisper. The pics are fabulous…reminds me of the Parsi tendency to break eggs in the middle of just about every dish!!
    C’mon Ashwini! One little egg in a pile of veges! And no butter! 🙂 Just a bit of olive oil and a few slivers of cheese…and a pile of veges!
    Yes, I do make the Fritata, and the Spanish tortilla (eggs with lots of potatoes!) as well!

  2. I adore eggs. As a kid, I had allergy to egg whites. I could only eat yolks back then. Now that I am over with the whole allergy thing, I prefer whites to yolks.
    Btw, I made the adai. Super! Made it with toor dal and urad dal.
    Hi Giniann. Eggs open a whole another world of food and cooking; glad you got over your allergy.
    And, I too, am planning to make adai again this week sometime.

  3. Disha: Do try it. Just the right start to a busy day.
    Manisha: Give the yolks a chance!
    Lakshmi: Yup, broccoli wd be good too. It hasn’t arrived this season yet. And its pricing here makes it perfect for small additions into an omlette!
    Nabeela: Thanks for the tip, though only part of our family eats eggs – just me and my son! They don’t know what they are missing (but they don’t mind it in cakes and desserts!) 🙂

  4. It does sound delicious. I’m a big fan of eggs. I don’t know if you consider the South Beach Diet to be a “fad” diet, but you might be interested in knowing that it completely cured my high cholesterol. Since I sarted eating that way, I’ve been off medication for nearly two years now. There is actually more and more evidence that for certain types of cholesterol profiles, too much white flour and sugar is much worse than eating animal foods. Anyway it sounds like your moderate approach is a good one.

  5. You are so very talented. Just plain and simple. I am teaching myself to prepare Indian food. I started a year ago! I have been cooking all my life and can prepare many foods, Italian, Mexcian and so on. But Indian is VERY hard. I have been from Blog to Blog! Yours is awesome.

    Thank you so much

    Hi Suzy. Thank you!

    It’s not that Indian is ‘hard’, it is just that there is really no ‘Indian’ 🙂 more like Andhra, Kerala, Kashmiri, Bengali…and even in this regionalization there are so many varieties based on custom/religion, local foods and so on. Once you have tried a few things you will find we too have a few basic ingredients that are a staple – if you throw mustard, heeng, and turmeric into hot oil before adding your veges for a stir fry you have Maharashtrian everyday food; if you instead use mustard oil and throw in cumin, heeng, ginger, coriander and chili powder you have basic Punjabi! If you have figured out Mexican and Italian, ‘Indian’ won’t be hard – and believe me that cuisine from the North, West, East and South India is as different as Mexican is from Italian!

    We are as enamoured of the baked goods of the West and who can beat the great taste and simplicity of a good burger made from fresh ingredients and served with no ketchup! 🙂

  6. Not asking anything this time, but just adding to your sentiments for an egg. Cholestrol or no cholestrol – I will eat the yolk, & at no cost will I avoid it. They are the best part of an egg. Who wants the whites.

Leave a comment