Step into My Parlour….said the Spider

my kitchen
Morning cuppa..the sun’s not up

Will you walk into my parlour?” said the Spider to the Fly,
‘Tis the prettiest little parlour that ever you did spy;

The way into my parlour is up a winding stair,
And I’ve a many curious things to shew when you are there.”
Oh no, no,” said the little Fly, “to ask me is in vain,
For who goes up your winding stair can ne’er come down again.”

“I’m sure you must be weary, dear, with soaring up so high;
Will you rest upon my little bed?” said the Spider to the Fly.
“There are pretty curtains drawn around; the sheets are fine and thin,
And if you like to rest awhile, I’ll snugly tuck you in!”
Oh no, no,” said the little Fly, “for I’ve often heard it said,
They never, never wake again, who sleep upon your bed!”

Said the cunning Spider to the Fly, “Dear friend what can I do,
To prove the warm affection I’ve always felt for you?
I have within my pantry, good store of all that’s nice;
I’m sure you’re very welcome — will you please to take a slice?”

“Oh no, no,” said the little Fly, “kind Sir, that cannot be,
I’ve heard what’s in your pantry, and I do not wish to see!”

“Sweet creature!” said the Spider, “you’re witty and you’re wise,
How handsome are your gauzy wings, how brilliant are your eyes!
I’ve a little looking-glass upon my parlour shelf,
If you’ll step in one moment, dear, you shall behold yourself.”
“I thank you, gentle sir,” she said, “for what you’re pleased to say,
And bidding you good morning now, I’ll call another day.”

The Spider turned him round about, and went into his den,
For well he knew the silly Fly would soon come back again:
So he wove a subtle web, in a little corner sly,
And set his table ready, to dine upon the Fly.
Then he came out to his door again, and merrily did sing,
“Come hither, hither, pretty Fly, with the pearl and silver wing;
Your robes are green and purple — there’s a crest upon your head;
Your eyes are like the diamond bright, but mine are dull as lead!”

Alas, alas! how very soon this silly little Fly,
Hearing his wily, flattering words, came slowly flitting by;
With buzzing wings she hung aloft, then near and nearer drew,
Thinking only of her brilliant eyes, and green and purple hue —
Thinking only of her crested head — poor foolish thing! At last,
Up jumped the cunning Spider, and fiercely held her fast.
He dragged her up his winding stair, into his dismal den,
Within his little parlour — but she ne’er came out again!

And now dear little children, who may this story read,
To idle, silly flattering words, I pray you ne’er give heed:
Unto an evil counsellor, close heart and ear and eye,
And take a lesson from this tale, of the Spider and the Fly.
*

Isn’t that a great children’s poem? And it seemed to fit the bill too!

Ilva at Lucullian Delight’s invited all of us to share this little special place we all love – our kitchens, where we cook and drink (work and toil), express ourselves – sometimes lazy, sometimes crazy (I’m in the mood for rhyme 🙂 ) – and spend so much energy. Step right in…

I have a small but super-efficient, sunny kitchen, custom designed by TH and I. It is a very-easy-to-keep-clean kitchen. Given the heat and dust of Delhi, most of my equipment stays off the counter but within easy reach. A lot of the photography you see happens near the window.

Usually, it doesn’t look this sparkling in the morning 🙂 – waiting the maids arrival – but since she took this whole week off and it has been up to me, I just do it after dinner is over. That way I get to start my day with tea in a clean clean kitchen in the morning. Did I mention I really love my sunny bright kitchen?! 🙂 Happy cooking!

my kitchen
An ordinary terracotta pot holds all the long slotted spoons, stirrers, rolling pins, ravies and ladles, old and new, from all over the world, …another jar for smaller ones…the onion basket (from Pipalkoti, near Joshimath, Uttaranchal)…you can just see the sun peeping through the large Scholar’s Tree outside.

my kitchen
Now the sun is streaming in…hazaar bottles of pickles tucked into the corner (and more in the cabinet above)…basket with a kinnow and my mom’s big lemons

my kitchen
sink near the sunny window…the copper collander with vegetables washed for todays stir-fry

my kitchen
golden oil bottles (mustard and olive), lac-coloured bamboo jars hold different things at different times (from Dilli Haat!), kerala red rice (for soups), handy candy (more rhyme!)…and the all important salt; the brown pottery in the cabinet above is my work!

*The Spider and the Fly by Mary Howitt (1821)

Tags: my kitchen, The Spider and the Fly

Blogspot is not working for me tonight…I hope you get the link Ilva. Cannot access any of the blogspot blogs tonight!! Wonder why? Banned again?!

Later: That was just routine maintenance, thank you!

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

27 thoughts on “Step into My Parlour….said the Spider”

  1. No,not banned! They’re down for ‘scheduled maintenance.’

    I am trapped in your lovely kitchen! But I don’t mind, for I know I will eat a great many treats before I am devoured!

    I love the sight of the sun streaming in! And, you made teapots! Oh wow! They are gorgeous! The one on the lower shelf has the shape I love – like the Beehouse teapots.

    I get the evening sun in my kitchen and in the mornings, if you stare long and hard you might see the mountains.

    I would love to have you over for that morning cuppa…too early? The tea pot with a ‘matching’ smaller one for milk was made using coils.
    That link asks too many questions for tech-challenged me…Tell me what to do.

  2. Wow it is neat! Oh you are a potter too. Reflects a lots of warmth and the colors are lovely.

    Not really…just dabbled a little bit…took a class for grad credit one semester actually!! Manisha (above) is the potter, I believe! 🙂

  3. Ur posts r really interesting to read. I hve got hooked on to ur blog. The kithcen looks really clean n warm.U have written that kerala red rice for soups, how do u use it ? Even I have d same ravee.All maharashtrian houses keep all these nick nacks.

    Just throw the pre-soaked or pre-cooked rice into clear or broth-y soups (I put some in this Thai soup as well); makes them more filling. I like how all par-boiled rice holds its shape unlike white basmati, that would just disintegrate during long cooking.

  4. you have handy candy! They never last in my house. The kitchen looks beautiful and clean so so well stacked 🙂

    You’re right…I don’t have a candy crazy family! Occasionally, a guest will spot it and pick one, else it just stays there, looking pretty!

  5. What a lovely kitchen!!!!! and to think of the poem going with it too!!!!! Lovely post Anita. 🙂

    The poem just sprang to my mind…and then I looked for it!

  6. Iwill surely try putting d par boiled rice in d vegetable soup[we r veg]. Actually I had skipped d Thai soup recipe post when I saw it had chicken, so missed d rice written in it !!

  7. What a neat, practical and lovely kitchen.. .wish I was there to taste all those pickles and enjoy a warm cup of coffee:)
    We must!

  8. Cosy and warm – that is how I would describe your kitchen. I’ll bring the Gugelhupf if you make us tea. Perfect for a mad tea party 😉 (Sorry I just had to!)

    That’s a swell idea, Meeta. Let’s call Nandita and Manisha as well…then it’ll be really mad-dening)!
    Everyone is waiting for the challenge you might throw us!

  9. You flatter me. I am not a potter, not even by a huge leap of the imagination! Although I must say that Medha thinks I am. She pulled out this pretty yellow and black dish that has a spiral extending from the center to the sides and said she wanted to eat out of it as it was her favorite dish. And more so, because I had made it. Then she turned it over to give her approval on how well I had trimmed the bottom and that was when she saw the stamp (dishwasher safe, blah blah) and her eyes widened in disbelief!

    I had to show her the crummy plates I’d made to get her to believe that I had not made that pretty yellow plate! But you know what? She promptly ditched it and wanted to eat out of the wobbly heavy plate I made! Unconditional love and approval. Priceless!!

    You have an adorable girl who adores you! It is beautiful that children have so much belief in us…let’s have faith in them in return (this is mainly directed at myself to leave the son alone – he is in X grade – Board Exams etc.)

  10. Oops…didn’t realize you couldn’t see the image. Does this work?

    Yup, it does…I can see the mountains…You lucky girl! I see the neighbour’s house 😦 30′ away.

  11. hi
    what a lovely and well kept kitchen
    i like to see all the handcrafted things like the terracotta pot , the bamboo jar and the onion basket
    all this things gives the kitchen the warmth and the indianess .
    thanks for sharing your lovely kitchen with us.
    Thanks, Mahek. I love the time I spend in the kitchen. It never seems a chore with all the brightness and the little things I have put together over time.

  12. Thanks for that tour even before I land up in Delhi, gotta you guys mine too…nothing exotic though, we in a leased out house here – but what the hell, it is my haven 🙂 COmign up soon!

  13. what a pretty kitchen you have there! homey, sunny and bright. I love, love your lac bamboo baskets…adding these to my wish list now. Everything looks so neat and organized!

    cheers!

    ‘Organized’ mess is so much ‘neater’!

  14. loved the poem & ur kitchen:-)
    Since this morning(after coming to ur blog) I feel like going to India today:-(

    Anytime you come, you are welcome in my parlour!

Leave a comment