Caronde he Caronde

caronde ki chutney

Please don’t mention Caronda* for some time…it is in every jar I had spare!Β  There is no room for any more pickles or preserves…As I mentioned last time, I made some caronda chutney a week ago, to use up part of my Dad’d harvest from a bush I planted about ten years ago in the front yard of their house.Β  I used the idea of a sweet-tangy Indian chutney such as saunth (sweet and sour tamarind chutney) or a mango chutney made with unripe mangoes.Β  The effort was much appreciated. Since it was a trial batch I got just enough to fill two tiny jars that I sent off to my mum and sister.Β  The next batch was a repeat of the recipe and this time the effort yielded a big jar – plenty, I thought.

There were still some carondas left which then went into a pickle, pits and all, along with some unripe mango, lotus root, and green chillies. I keep that stoneware jar in the sun, what little there is of it at this time, bring it in every evening, and give it a good stir.Β  It is looking good.

So far so good.Β  My mum liked the relish a lot.Β  She doesn’t eat too much pickle because of the high salt content.Β  I told her that pitting the fruit was a pain in the rear.Β  She pitted about a kilo with the help of her maid and presented it to me.Β  I had thought more like: ok, here’s a recipe you might like to try… But I came home and made my third batch of caronda chutney.Β  This batch had fewer ingredients – I had already used up my dates; no gur – I couldn’t be bothered; less sugar – I had used up a lot of sugar in the past couple of weeks between the caronda relish and the mango jam, and was making statements with big exclamatory marks regarding the sugar content of the chutney.Β  The fruit for this batch had ripened further on the plant, was a deeper pink, and there was a subtle change in texture too.Β  What a pretty pink it turned in the pan!Β  And the texture – why, it reminded me of sour cherries in syrup!Β  The slight crispness as you bite into one was so similar!Β  That made me Google for recipes using sour cherries and I found a bunch that hold promise for next year!Β  I make no promises…but there might even be Caronda Liqueur on these pages one day!

My father-in-law was appalled that that lone (big) jar was all the caronda relish there was…so he volunteered to pit the remaining carondas!Β  One large bowl full!Β  So, friends, I made my fourth and last batch of caronda relish.Β  By now I had run out of all glass jars, my own and those gathered from family…but there was one that used to contain Himalayan honey that I found at the back of the top shelf of one of the cupboards… You really shall find if you seek. πŸ˜€ For those of you who cannot find caronda, sour cherries will be an excellent substitute.

caronda relish
Caronda Relish I
(a jammy chutney version)

2 1/2 C pitted caronda (or sour cherries)
2-3 T grated ginger
1 1/2 C water
1 1/2 t salt
3/4 C sugar
3/4 C gur (or brown sugar)
10 dates, chopped
1/4 C raisins
1.5 t red chilli (cayenne), coarse powder or flakes

Take the fruit, grated ginger, and water in a non-reactive pan. Bring to boil and then simmer till the fruit is cooked, about 10 minutes. Add rest of the ingredients and cook another 10 minutes, till the mixture had thickened and reduced, 10-15 minutes. Transfer to sterilized glass jars while still hot. Secure lids, cool and refrigerate.

Since this had a good sugar content, I would expect it to keep well like other jams.

caronde ki chutney
Caronda Relish II
(Low sugar)

4 C pitted caronda (or sour cherries)
5-6 T grated ginger
2 C water
2 C sugar
2 1/2 t salt
1 T chilli powder (cayenne)

Take caronda and ginger in a non-reactive pan. Add water, and bring it to a boil. Cook covered till the fruit has softened, about 15 minutes. Add rest of the ingredients and cook on a rolling boil till the syrup has reduced and thickened (become syrupy), about 15-20 minutes. Pour into sterilized jars along with all the syrup. Close lids tight, cool, and refrigerate.

I’m sending this to Bee who is hosting this month’s Grow Your Own, which is now traveling from its home at Andrea’s Recipes.Β  Boy, did I use my home-grown carondas or what!

foccaciaThe relish made a great accompaniment to a simple meal of butter-tossed salted potatoes, steamed green beans, served with onion focaccia. I can imagine it being great with roasted chicken or turkey.

I can’t leave you without my focaccia recipe, that I made this week, while cooking that last batch of caronda relish.foccacia
Onion Focaccia
(Serves 6-8) eight) – WP won’t let me get away with ‘8’ followed by a parenthesis without the ‘cool’ look!

2 C atta (wholewheat flour)
2 C maida (all purpose flour)
2 T vital wheat gluten
1 1/2 t sugar
1 t yeast
generous glugs of olive oil
salt

for the topping:
1 large onion, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, smashed
olive oil

Combine the wholewheat flour, wheat gluten, sugar, and yeast with warm water to form a thick paste. Cover and set aside for 20 minutes. Wholewheat flour is heavy and this extended time allows it to hydrate properly.

Add the refined flour, salt, and olive oil (3 T at least!) and knead into a soft-but-not-sticky dough (use milk for any additional liquid you might need to use up the flour). Knead about 10 minutes. Oil the ball of dough lightly, and keep covered till doubled. In present weather conditions (warm and humid), it took 45 minutes in my kitchen.

While the dough rises, prepare onions for the topping. Pour some olive oil in a pan. Add the onions and garlic to the oil and cook on medium heat till well browned, stirring every now and then to keep from burning.

foccacia
Preheat oven (Gas Mark 9). Oil 2 cast iron pans. Divide into rough balls to suit your pan sizes, without punching out all the air from the dough. Push with your fingers to spread the dough.Β  Let the dough rise for another 30 minutes or so.Β  Press down with the tips of your fingers to make depressions.Β  Pour olive oil over the faocaccia (into some of the dimples!).Β  Spread the fried onions on top. Bake on the lowest shelf for 10-12 minutes, or till it starts turning golden. Serve hot.

This is a bonus post with a bonus recipe. Nupur has been saying Less is More all month for Monthly Blog Patrol, which started at Coffee’s Spice Cafe! Here is my find: Banana Bread Dosa from Recipe Junction.

Rice+ripe bananas+methi seeds+salt=Banana Bread Dosa!

banana dosa

For some reason my batter didn’t ferment at all, despite the perfect weather conditions. Well, out came the trusted yeast to the rescue. I added a half teaspoon to the batter and before long, it was frothing and foaming! Since it has only rice, and no dal, it tasted a lot like appam! Served with sambar and peanut chutney, another almost perfect dish for Less is More!

Roasted skinned peanuts+onion (+garlic – I’ll make this optional, so I can meet the five or less ingredient requirement!)+red chilli+tamarind+tempering = Peanut Chutney! (from Mahanandi)

One more thing – the announcement…I guess it can keep for a day…too much already!

* Caraunda/Caronda/Karaunda/Natal Plum (Source: Encyclopaedia of Indian Medicine: Materia Medica – Minerals and Metallic)

Names in some other Indian languages:
Sanskrit – Karamardakah, Vanakshudra, Supushpah, Kshirphalah (amongst many)
Hindi – Karaunda
Bengali – Karmeha
Marathi – Karavanda
Kannada – Karavadi
Tamil – Perukatachedi
Telugu – Okachettu, Kalivi
Malayalam – Karanta, Katavu

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

40 thoughts on “Caronde he Caronde”

  1. no caronda in the foccacia? i love the gorgeous colour of the second relish.

    NO! It’s coming out of my ears!

    And the bright pink the second time around was beacuse I was using only white sugar! πŸ˜‰ It has it’s pluses!

  2. I just love the pictures and it makes me to drool over here. delicious dishes. Bookmarked it and love to make it sometime.

    Hope you do! What’s a little bit of pitting if not good for some reflection…

  3. are you going to ask us to make those vile things called batata vadas? you’d better not. they’re greasy and gas-inducing. i hate em.

    πŸ˜€ :evil grin:

  4. I’ve never eaten a caronda πŸ˜€ And when is the batata vada party? Can we participate?

    The announcement is round the corner! Of course, you have to participate! Everyone is invited!

  5. What a splendid post, with so many lovely recipes:)
    My mom makes fries karonda with chillies and salt, and me and my sisters would fight over our shares..I could so take that entire lot..Life is not fair!

    I did make mirchi-caronda last year – yum as well! I would have gladly shared my bounty with anyone who would have it…

  6. Ooooh! Bee hates them! Then batata vada it has to be!

    Mine are not greasy nor do they induce anything besides sheer culinary nirvana.

    That decided it for me too! She should have to deep fry at least once a year!
    Your don’t
    look greasy…mine neither! Agree about the nirvana bit, and yet we deny ourselves the opportunity! I’m so happy you thought of them! Perfect finger food for a party they are.

  7. Um, “tempering” is NOT one ingredient; that’s totally cheating with the use of clever wording!

    Oh, if you could only see the amount of jars I have! The thing is, most of them aren’t from my own use: the current and last person I lived with were always buying things in jars and I did my darndest to catch every one before it went into the recycling bin. I’ll be having a “dry” period again soon when I go back to living alone, so I’ve already begun trying to recruit my friends into saving their glass jars for me! You gotta do what you gotta do… I’ve even put little labels on the bottoms of filled jars that I’ve given away that state: please return to Pel. It doesn’t always work though. Aren’t there big recycling bins somewhere nearby that you could just climb into and search? πŸ˜€

    …But Nupur said it was ok to count tempering as ‘one ingredient’ – her event, her rules! I’m not complaining!

    I have so many jars with just a little achaar in them – have taken out a couple and kept them on the table. They empty those, and then only will I take out the caronda! πŸ˜€

    Everyone reuses in this country! Which is a good thing…There’s never enough for all the spices, powders, achaar, and chutney we Indians hoard! And I like your idea of the label at the bottom…

  8. The post is an absolute bumper!!! I love the Karvandas everywhere and the foccasia. I haven’t baked for a long time and looks like will nt be able to for sometime.

    Why are you away from baking?

  9. Pitting? Reflection? You must be talking about mirrors. It certainly can’t be…can it? OMG. A convert here. Paal payasam rules!!

    Anjali, idhar dekho.

    I’m suggesting your tried-and-tested tip for others πŸ˜€ Me, I’m not the one who did all that pitting! I did the cooking part – they were all so eager to do it as long as I made the relish!

  10. Am I the only one who doesn’t know what a caronda is? 😦 Relish looks delish πŸ˜€
    Belated happy birthday to A Mad Tea Party, Anita…

    Not late at all – there’s still time!
    I am concluding this is not common in theSouthern parts of the country, so you’re not the only one!

  11. Nupur is waaaaaay too nice then. If it was me and my event? Immediate disqualification. No “buts”. πŸ™‚

    And speaking of strict, you’re witholding the relish until the jars of achaar have been emptied??? That is motivation! Ooooh what a whip you’ve got!

    Spices, powders, achaar and chutney…SPAC. “We Indians”…hmmmpf! I bet Rp 10 that I can outdo your stash on Flickr! πŸ˜€ We’ll start with the “S”…

    That Nupur is! …I don’t see you hosting any events in the near future… πŸ˜† so we won’t get to know how strict you are with the rules.

    You win! But only ’cause you had people you liked buying all that bottled stuff! But I do have a kitchen full of filled jars – filled with SPACs!

  12. Hey Manisha and Anita, Karonda and Karwanda are the same thing. Karwanda are eaten raw when overripe as it has latex. But yes they look like the picture in the last post. No confusion abot it.

    From what I have found out they may be two very different varieties of the same genus – Caronda/karonda/karaunda are always eaten when still unripe – that is at the white-rosy stage, adn not at their plum-red ripened stage, while karvanda seems to be consumed after ripening. The shape of the flowers and the fruit is also distinctly different.

    For the record:
    Caraunda: Carissa carandas syn. C congesta Wight
    Karvanda: Carissa macrocarpa/C. grandiflora

    Post edited to include additional information about Karaunda.

  13. Wow, that’s a caronda feast. And you sure are on a banana-binge these days πŸ™‚ I love the focaccia with onions (how about a slice of that and some caronda-nadru pickle) πŸ˜€

    So when are we frying the vadas/batata vadas/ whatever else that needs frying πŸ˜‰

    Pel: i didn’t find any “please return to Pel” label in the Karela achaar Jar (there was another one though, saying “please let Pel know when achaar gets over”) πŸ˜€

    Hmmm…the caronda-nadru pickle is cooking! Thanks for the swell idea about the combo (I might have added a tad too much salt…which only means it will not spoil ever!).
    Check back for the announcement soon….
    And this eems to be as good a spot as any to let Pel know that you are all out of karela pickle! (People, you all have blogs you know – maybe time to use that free space?)

  14. pel, the karela pickle you sent me is over. do you take hints?

    And, what did she have to say about blocking IPs of those who didn’t stick to the topic?

  15. That’s a lot of food in one post, not that I’m complaining.
    I don’t get carondas or sour cherries here, but I have jars/ bottles of all shapes and sizes full of mango something or the other! Mangoes tend to do that to me:)
    Looking forward to the party invite.

    I thought I might as well…
    Mango is always good – very inspiration indeed! I have quite a few bottles filled with mango things too!

  16. Hi!!!

    Your site is sooo yummy..
    I am new housewife, and just love cooking. I love trying everything that looks delicious…I wanna try your mango jam, but dont have organic ones. so have to test with ones available in shopss…Have added your site to my fav list..

    Oops, i forgot to mention! your flicker site is just fantastic!!

    My mango jam is a winner!

    The Flickr site – πŸ˜€ Yeah, those goofs are all over that one as well!

  17. That’s an overload of good food on this page! The sight of those carondas is enough to make me swoon…
    Thanks for the entry for MBP!

    Thanks for the great theme, Nupur!

  18. Anita,

    I LOVE your blog. Thank you very much for sharing some of the most wonderful recipes for simple fare. I have tried your rajma, chholey, roth, aloo parantha & mirch achaar recipes and they came out perfect!

    Do you think fresh cranberries would be a good substitute for karonda?

    Thanks for reading and trying out the recipes, Sonia!
    Cranberries are an excellent substitute for karonda – the juicy tartness is quite comparable! I thought of cranberry relish when I suggested the chicken/turkey pairi
    ng.

  19. Love your recipes and I usually try a lot of them out.But this time you have me stumped.WHAT ARE CARONDAS?As soon as I am enlightened on this I will go and fill up yet another bottle much to my family’s dismay!

    Looks like these are more popular in Northern India than other places. It is a tropical-subtropical plant, found all over India, and also grown in Florida in the US! I hope the response to Anjali will clear it up for you a bit. There is also a picture of the fruit in the previous post.

    As long as there are bottles available for us to fill, we are content, right? πŸ˜€

  20. I’m glad you have the energy to create this long post..good to know about your adventures with Caronda ..:-)…everything looks so gud, I like the jam so much..

    I have all the energy – it is time that I am sometimes short of!

  21. I came here… left a nice message… saying I have the candied carondas that Indian bakeries put in cakes telling us they are cherries… and offered to bring some over for you… just to add to your little collection… and there’s no response… wait… even my comment ain’t here!

    No wonder my Relish #2 tasted like sour cherries to me! LOL
    Sorry about the missing comment – let me check my spam…

    Nope – nothing there. You think I’ll turn down an offer of a jar of anything?! πŸ˜€

  22. Hi Anita..

    one doubt I have..i have seen the caronda picture that you have posted before. do i have to pick them at this stage? but when i cut, they have some latex like liquid- is that alright? (bananas- we remove the stain by keeping in turmeric water/ banana flower- by putting some oil).

    I dont have this at home. But my friend promised that she will get some for me πŸ™‚

    Thanks in advance πŸ™‚

    Yes, there is some latex – don’t worry about that. That is the stage carondas are at their tartest. For my last batch, they had ripened some more, and were less tart and the flesh a deeper colour. Go ahead, make your relish!

    While cooking, some latex will coat the cooking pan. This can be removed easily later by rubbing with oil.

  23. That’s a lot of food in one post!! Focaccia sounds delicious. BTW what is vital wheat gluten?(Is it gluten purified from wheat?) Where do you get it from and what stage do you add it?

    Yes, it is gluten from wheat. Thanks for pointing out that I had missed it in the recipe. If you can’t get it, just use more maida.

  24. Hi Anitha,
    you have alovely blog going here…and soo many recipes in one post…:) wow! whattay feat!

    The focaccia recipe is tempting…but whated to know what is wheat gluten? do you get it in stores in India? IS there any substitute?

    Wheat gluten is the isolated protein-rich part of wheat flour. It helps make a lighter bread when using whole wheat flour. Omit if you don’t have it, and increase the proportion of maida.

  25. Yes indeed, I would say you were quite busy! We don’t have carondas here, but sour cherries will work. Thanks for sharing your tasty chutney with Grow Your Own!

  26. Hi Anita,

    Tried your Caronada relish, somewhere between recipes I & II, and got a great chutney….right now enjoying with methi paratha and a cup of tea. Thanks for sharing your recipes!!!

Leave a comment