Scones for Afternoon Tea

tomato and cucumber sandwiches

Have you been enjoying your afternoon tea with friends and family? I have been!

tomato and cucumberThis monsoon the rains have been really heavy and incessant.  Greens generally disappear from the shelves in this season as they spoil in less than a day.  Coriander becomes elusive and very expensive.   The Big Apple stores, thankfully, stock it in sufficient quantity.  But this Friday when I went to restock in the evening they were out and I couldn’t make the all-time tea-time Indian favourite – chutney sandwiches.  When we were kids no birthday party was complete without these. Instead, I had to settle for the other favourite – cucumber, tomato, and Amul cheese sandwiches! I brewed a large pot of tea just for myself (TH is a teatotaler), prepared the sandwiches (not all that dainty, it wasn’t an English tea after all) and had myself a jolly good time.

Today, my parents dropped by for lunch. I served them a most delicious vegetarian lunch which included Kerala-style bittergourds cooked in coconut milk with sour mango (this is now one of my favourite ways to cook karela!), a Maharashtrain style stir-fried bhindi (okra split along the length into two, and stir fried in oil tempered with rai seeds, hing, turmeric, and red chilli powder), pumpkin kootu (using Bee and Jai’s recipe for kootu podi), served with roti and rice. My parents thoroughly enjoyed their meal! As did I. Awesome. Even if I say so myself.

After a brief siesta we needed the afternoon cup. I served it with fruity scones. It was my first attempt at making scones and they turned out rather well. They were light, with a barely crusty bottom. Split, smothered with homemade jam (I served with the quince marmalade as well as this season’s mango jam) they were the perfect accompaniment to our afternoon tea! I recommend them wholeheartedly!

scones

Prune Scones
(Adapted from this Fruit Scones recipe)

2 C maida (or all purpose flour)
3 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/4 C refined oil (such as peanut oil)
1/4 C+ chopped prunes
50ml dahi (Greek yoghurt)
100ml milk

sconesPreheat oven to Gas Mark 8. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a mixing bowl. add oil and mix it in using your fingers. Stir in the chopped fruit. Using a fork beat together the yoghurt and milk. Make a well in the center of the flour and pour in the mixed milk and yoghurt. Knead with a light hand till the dough barely sticks together. Turn onto a floured surface and roll into a 2cm thick disc. Push the edges to form a near-perfect disc. Cut into triangles (I cut 12 pieces). Glaze with beaten egg if you want a shiny finish; I usually skip this step as I don’t know what to do with the leftover egg (throwing edible food is never an option with me!). Quickly transfer to the baking sheet and bake in the upper side of the oven for 10-12 minutes till risen and beginning to brown.

Cool and serve with jam and malai (clotted cream). Since there is no sugar in this recipe, you needn’t feel too guilty about lathering on the jam or marmalade! Don’t forget the tea!

What are you, my dear friends, bringing to the Afternoon Tea? (On request, the deadline has now been extended to 15th Sept.  Remember, this is not like the CWG Projects deadline, and will not be extended again! :))

scones

scones

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

32 thoughts on “Scones for Afternoon Tea”

  1. Lovely to read your post once again. Nothing beats chutney sandwiches right? I’ve tried scones a couple of times but they were high on butter – this one seems just perfect – will try this when our family gathers around next week for a cousin’s wedding!

    Good to hear from you, Nandita! Try and tell us if you change anything!

  2. One Q Anita – 3 tsp baking soda – did it not leave that aftertaste – i did check the original recipe and see that you have substituted b.powder and butter with soda and dahi. I’n sure 3 tsp of the baking powder we get here will be impossible to use in any baking goods without an awful metallic taste 😦

    Oops, sorry. Thanks for asking the question, Nandita! Corrected that to read “baking powder!”
    I was more than usually careful while measuring the baking powder this time (flattened the top with a knife!) because I too was afraid of that unsavouriness of food that has too much soda/baking powder. Since baking powder has ingredients in addition to the soda, these tasted just fine. I couldn’t bring myself to use so much butter so used oil instead; will try with a lesser amount of oil next time and see how that turns out.

  3. Yummy! How do I send pictures of my tea party?

    If you upload your pictures to a photo sharing site such as Flickr or Picasa, you can leave a link in the comments here for all of us to check!

  4. Perfect – and yes chutney sandiwches are my absolute favourite….but no coriander available for love or money in the local markets now 😦

    The scones look good – I miss MY kitchen back home where I had the platform so beautifully set up, close to the stove 😦

    I think it is time and visited to see what your present kitchen looks like… 🙂

  5. Read many of your posts today Anita and it’s like WOW !!!
    The scones look gorgeous and light as well.
    Can i send a previously posted recipe too ??

    Only fresh food for the party! 🙂

  6. Did anyone, other than me, notice Anita’s perfectly-cut, rectangular slices of cucumber? All I know is that I’m thinking about and looking at the those divine-looking sandwiches!

    But no butter in the scones?! That’s a definite green light in my book to be putting LOTS of raw garlic in the mint-walnut chutney from now on! 😀

    Cucumber cut like this fits the square/rectangular slices much better! 🙂
    Nope, no butter. I replaced that with oil. An old habit actually…

    That link is for an example of what a green chutney can be like…it is no green light for anything. I wouldn’t put garlic in my sandwiches (never say never, though!); TH wouldn’t touch them if I did, and those be the only sandwiches he cares for. Un-toasted sandwiches are not his thing!

    1. Have you thought of making bread loaded with pumpkin-seeds and saunf? That’s be good for any sandwich- toasted or not! 😉

      Fraulein TLO makes her hari chatni exactly like I do! I’m pretty sure she got the recipe from me… 😀 But, actually I was speaking of this mint-walnut chutney: oil in place of butter in scone-dough=doon pudna chatin ke Türkçe. 😀

      But the 15th is fast-approaching! I’d best get baking…

      Honestly, you need to get into the kitchen instead of making blasphemy accusations here!

      1. Did someone call me?

        Call me square but I like my cukes cut round.

        And, Pel, really! If you keep disclosing my sources, I’m going to have no credibility left. I might have to start cooking from cookbooks.

        I like them to fill my samwich end to end…quite original don’t you agree? Almost inspirational, in fact.

  7. Oh yes, those sandwiches are an all time favorite evening tea treat! And so refreshing too!

    These are my kind of scones, btw!

    Stop eying these, and make some yourself! What pray, are you bringing?

  8. Did not notice the square cucumbers till Pel mentioned it! That is a great idea. The round slices keep sliding off the sandwich.
    Thank you for extending the deadline. Got ideas but am behind so many deadlines. Got to step up! See you at the tea party.

    See you soon, Jaya!

  9. Manisha up there: Take heart; I hear that cooking from books is all the rage now- especially the little ones that come with pressure-cookers!

    Girls so love to play pretend…

    1. Dude! Coconut oil and I are just becoming reacquainted. Before this coconut oil in my food would make me gag as I could not think of coconut oil without seeing an oily braid in my mind’s eye. Ew.

      I lost my Prestige pressure cooker cookbook. Is that part of the rage, too? 😉

      I used to feel the same…but glad, I got over that!
      Lost/torn…whatever.

      1. Maybe you should stick to replying to comments within comments. That way we know what you’re going on about. It’s difficult, you know, ever since you started rambling two posts ago about cookbooks and copy-paste.

        What man – I too wanted to get my mugshot there!

  10. Anita,
    You do not need to explicitly announce a tea party. one is always on-going in your comments section. Manisha, Pel and you make for a LOL party. I can provide the tea myself 🙂

    The rage about pressure cooker cook books really cracked me up. Cheeky!

    🙂 So true! and a very Mad one too!

  11. Ok, now that the CWG Games are literally collapsing around us as we speak, can we start the party please?! Round up! Round Up! Round up! 🙂 Just kidding but can’t wait to get this started and see all the goodies lined up.

    So, when are you coming to my kitchen then? This Sat/Sun looks good to you? Mail me 🙂

    Gosh, it is such a sorry state around us! Yes, the party shall definitely begin. Soon. 🙂
    (I am mailing you right away!)

  12. I’ve missed it! It’s been a busy few months for me – but I am doing all I can to catch up! These scones look awesome Anita! I absolutely adore quince jam and always look forward to the season to make my own. Perfect with these scones!

    I know you have had a lot going on!

  13. Yaay!! we managed it !!! was great meeting you amidst all the madness that is our lives! What a great Tea Party indeed 🙂 Thanks for coming – it was perfect and Hubby and I loved the fact that we got to meet the both of you – so refreshing 🙂

    Hope we can do it again soon! we are back from our trip!

Leave a comment