Of Treacle and Tarts

A Mad Tea Party is six!

I tried very hard to come up with an anniversary post.  I have a lot to say about how we deal with food and nutrition but I found I have said it and said it quite well already.  Please re-read Food, Glorious Food and we can get talking about food.

We take writing about food too seriously sometimes.  I don’t mean to say it is frivolous but it doesn’t have to become removed from fun.  Let’s mix some well-earned nonsense into the task of feeding ourselves; let’s have ourselves A Mad Tea Party.  I mean, a tea party inspired by the fabulous and witty work of Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland!

Manisha might remember that, a few years back, we had thought about starting a food blog event based on cooking inspired by books.  Cook a Book we had planned to call it.  We never got to it and now it has been already done.  But, we can at least have a one-time event and see how that goes.  All of you must have read Alice in Wonderland as a child.  I recommend The Annotated Alice, if you haven’t or if you want to read it again.

Everyone is invited – bloggers and non-bloggers, those who leave comments and make this a party, and those who lurk!  Have yourself a mad, mad party!  To know more about how to participate in the Madness visit The Mad Tea Party – V.

Published by

Anita

A self professed urban ecologist!

11 thoughts on “Of Treacle and Tarts”

  1. What a beautiful edition of The Annotated…! Amazing how Carroll managed to pack so many in such a small space, eh? 🙂

    I’m not sure that I can participate in this party, but, either way, I wish your blog a happy anniversary and toast its ongoing success!

    Cheers-

    You’re not sure, so there’s some chance you may be able to make it! Imagine the Tea Party without the Mad Hatter!
    That is the ‘definitive’ edition, and I got my own copy for my birthday this year!

  2. Congratulations, Anita, it’s been a fun six years of reading your blog!

    any book can be the inspiration, right?

    Thanks, Sra!
    It has to be Alice!

  3. Congratulations Anita. Your six years of blogging has enriched and nourished us and it is a pleasure to visit you. Yesterday we had luchi-station bhaji in Mad Tea Party’s honor and your station bhaji was much loved by my daughters. THANK YOU.

    Now, do tea for them!

  4. Hey! Anita, Congrats! on yet another year filled with food, fun and feisty words…..here’s to many more such years and love your party idea. Will write in how the boys and I enjoyed our mad tea party this weekend.Happy anniversary!!

    Thanks, Rameshwari! It’s only a party with all of you out there – reading and testing and writing back!

  5. Congratulations Anita! And thank you for so many great recipes which have filled our kitchen table at home.

    Thank you for reading, Poornima! It is always nice to hear from you!

  6. Wow, six years. That’s amazing Anita. And nearly 2 million hits. Thanks for your lovely message. Now I’ll actually know what it’s like to write a blog! Love from Australia, Sonia

  7. Congratulations on 6 years of enriching so many with wonderful food both for body and soul! Reading Alice again in honour of your latest party

    Thanks for reading, Annie! Yay, you are coming to the party!

  8. Dear Anita,

    Have been meaning to write to you for ages. As a new bride in 2007, you and Indira (mahanandi) helped me to dish out meals to a foodie husband. I loved your site not just for the recipes but also for your style of writing. I had written to you ages back and you responded so warmly like an older sister/aunt.

    Two kids (and thousands of nappies and feeds) later feel have just got some breathing space! Intend to catch up on a lot of recipes and posts now. Hope to take cues from you (and other bloggers) who manage to find time for things they love despite full time careers, home management and kids.

    Wish you the very best and pray you never stop writing!

    Lots of love,
    Zinnia

    I am so happy that I could be part of your story through the food, Zinnia! Come, join us for tea! Make the time!

Leave a comment